Pot Roast in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
This receipe tasted great but I made some changes to it - which I highly was very pleased with. a) I used Golden Mushroom soup instead of regular - it just made the sauce look so rich b) I used Honey Brown Lager beer - it gave a nice sweet twist of a taste to it and only used HALF the bottle. c) I quartered red potatos and baked in the oven at 425' for 30 minutes (45 minutes before pot roast was finished) in a metal pan, not glass - with salt, pepper, olive oil, paprika and oregano (topped with foil) and then dumped it into the pot roast for the last 15 minutes. The sauce of the pot roast was something you could put over any meat or chicken and made the carrots and celery melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
I loved this recipe. I used a dutch oven and baked it instead at 300F for about 3 hours and when it was done the meat just fell apart and was so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
Excellent flavor. I also made it in the crock pot after searing the meat and cooking the veggies in oil. The gravy was wonderful on mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
Very good results! I love using beer in pot roast as you get such a tender meat and nice flavor. The mushroom soup adds a nice creamy taste to the broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
So easy. So tasty. I used my crockpot. Seared the meat first and sauteed the vegetables. Used Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic soup. I used a tri-tip roast and it was so moist and tender that my 17 year old who is NOT a red meat fan, loved it. Next time will cook some wide egg noodles and serve it like a stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
Yum! This was really good and really easy. Don't be intimated by the cooktime. All you need to do is toss stuff in a dutch oven and let everything simmer for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I love cooking with either beer or wine which is why this recipe caught my eye. I did omit the cloves as I'm not a huge fan. I also added some beef broth, more seasonings and a bit of Gravy Master. Once the meat was done, I thickened with flour and some of the fat that had accumulated. This also works really nicely in the slow cooker once you've browned the meat. Just make sure you deglaze the pan with the liquid before transferring it to the crock pot. Very good Christy and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
A couple weeks ago I made a roast from a recipe on this site and proclaimed it to be the best roast I'd ever had. Well, this is taking it's spot. The meat was beyond tender and so juicy. I did put all the ingredients, plus a bag of baby carrots, into the slow cooker instead. Cooked it on high for 6 hours, low for one. Thickened the gravy with instant potato flakes. So, so, SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This was really good, and different from the standard cream of mushroom, onion packet and beef broth pot roasts out there; but I did feel it was missing something. Wasn't able to put my finger on it exactly. I did use my crock pot and threw in the bay leaf sans the cloves (not a huge fan of cloves) along with maybe a tablespoon of beef boullion granuels. Let it cook all day and threw some baby carrots and potatoes in about half way. Everything was tender and delicious and once the drippings were thickened, they made a wonderful gravy. I would like to try this one again, only I will experiment with the spices. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I followed this recipe to the letter except used 2 cans of cream of mushroom (3.5 lbs. of meat) and I marinated the meat for 2 hours first (olive oil, granulated garlic and Kroger steak seasoning - similar to Dales). This turned out excellent and it is a terrific way to use less expensive cuts of meat (particularly round steak).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States