Pot Roast in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
The only ingredient I omitted was the celery stalks, because my husband doesn't like them. Inspite of this, though, Christine's recipe still turned out to be fabulously yummy! I don't know if it matters what brand of beer is used, but FYI, I used Bass Ale. I highly recommend this recipe not only because the results turn out to be fantastic, but also because for a novice cook like me, it was quite easy to make! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
I feel that this recipe should have tasted better for the amount of time it had to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
I ended up cooking this a lot longer than the recipe called for, but the result was a roast that literally fell apart on the fork. I also roasted some new potatoes and used the mushroom gravy as a side. The reviews at the table were rave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
Excellent flavor. I also made it in the crock pot after searing the meat and cooking the veggies in oil. The gravy was wonderful on mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
Sooo good....so tender .. the meat just falls apart. Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
Yum! This was really good and really easy. Don't be intimated by the cooktime. All you need to do is toss stuff in a dutch oven and let everything simmer for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
I didn't find this to be as great as some people did. Maybe it was the brand of beer I used? Anyways, I'll keep trying : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
This was a great one! Super easy and Super yummy. It makes it's own gravy and makes the house smell great while it is roasting. My husband thought I had slaved away all day with this one. (I let hime think that so he would do the dishes). I will be making this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
When I first pulled this off the site I thought I had everything I needed for it,it turned out I had the beer, cream of mushroom soup, the roast and the onions. I did some adjustments by coating roast in flour before browning and made gravy of the drippings but so far of the 2 times that I made it got "a sure fire keeper". Thanks. KDM, Gig Harbor, Wa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2000
Amazingly yummy. My husband forgave me for using his Bass for this dish. And it was even better as leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States