Pot Roast in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I used a 2 1/2 pound rump roast. I used a light beer and added 2 beef bouillon cubes for a darker color. Very tender and great gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
A good use of the left over BEER!!! Not that you have any left over BEER!! Moist, tender, & most of all amust for the BEER DRENKERS in the crowd!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
A very easy recipe, and the kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARSHYNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Line, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I used a chuck roast and cooked it using a pressure cooker. It cut the cooking time to about an hour. I cooked the roast for 30 minutes, then added potatoes and carrots, and cooked an additional 20 minutes. It turned out great, lots of tasty gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I made this recipe today and it will definitely be a keeper. My mother who is an excellent cook also really enjoyed it. I made a couple of changes by using chuck roast instead. Also, I lightly seasoned my meat with seasoning salt and garlic pepper. I couldn't imagine not seasoning meat. I read other reviewers comments and opted for golden mushroom soup for aesthetics reasons. I used Bass beer like others had mentioned and I was very pleased with the wonderful flavor. This is definitley a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
This receipe tasted great but I made some changes to it - which I highly was very pleased with. a) I used Golden Mushroom soup instead of regular - it just made the sauce look so rich b) I used Honey Brown Lager beer - it gave a nice sweet twist of a taste to it and only used HALF the bottle. c) I quartered red potatos and baked in the oven at 425' for 30 minutes (45 minutes before pot roast was finished) in a metal pan, not glass - with salt, pepper, olive oil, paprika and oregano (topped with foil) and then dumped it into the pot roast for the last 15 minutes. The sauce of the pot roast was something you could put over any meat or chicken and made the carrots and celery melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
Very good results! I love using beer in pot roast as you get such a tender meat and nice flavor. The mushroom soup adds a nice creamy taste to the broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
I don't know why, but I didn't get the outstanding flavor that almost everyone else raved about. I was really disappointed. I followed the recipe to a "T" but actually the meat was rather bland. Perhaps the choice of beer really makes a difference? I used Sam Adams. Maybe I will try again with Bass, which other reviewers seem to have gotten good results with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
Very good pot roast recipe! I've tried another one on this site (the highly rated one)and liked this better. Maybe because of the cut of meat. Came out much more tender than the other one. Followed the directions to the "T". Husband, brother and picky three year old daughter raved! Loved the beer in it! I think I'll put one less bay leaf next time. That (taste) came through pretty strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
I wasn't going to try this recipe, even though it has rave reviews, because the idea of beer in pot roast didn't seem right. Boy, was I wrong. rummaging the cupboards, I found a bottle of Irish Stout beer, and decided to use it for this pot roast. I added some veggies and cooked it in a slow cooker, but otherwise stuck to Christines' recipe. Props to ya, Christine. Delicious. I was puzzled about the clove thing.... until I tasted it. Who'da thought??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States