Pot Roast in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I found this an easy and tasty roast recipe. I made in the crockpot and my roast was flavorful and tender. I would recommend adding mushrooms and potatoes to the roast, but really made no other changes. I used a light beer and Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom soup. Other than needing a little salt I did not find the gravy lacking at all. I served with mashed potatoes, biscuits and salad for an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
My family loved it, I didn't use the bay leaves or cloves and added a couple of potatoes cut up. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I made this, and my boyfriend loved it. I'm not sure if I was as impressed - either the cut of meat I used wasn't the best (possible) or the sauce was a little too "Bay leaf-y." In any rate, I'll try this one more time, just to see how it cooks with a different type of meat, but I may make some adjustments (not as much bay leaf, taking it out all together, etc)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
The boyfriend loved it, I thought the meat tasted boring. Maybe it was the cheap cut of meat? I give it three stars, my sweetie four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This was a disaster for me...the meat gained hardly any flavor and was very bland. The sauce however wound up being overpowered by the cloves and bay leaves and had a bitter aftertaste. Bad Deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
I loved this recipe. I used a dutch oven and baked it instead at 300F for about 3 hours and when it was done the meat just fell apart and was so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This was excellent! So simple and so tasty. I sprinkled a liberal amount of garlic powder on the meat before browning and substituted the celery (didn't have any on hand) with half a green pepper. The sauce was wonderful and there was lots of it - this goes great with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Meat was moist and had good flavor, but it was not out of the ordinary in flavor...sorry but it tasted like a typical roast found at any "good" eatery! It was easy to prepare and everyone ate it all, I will make it again for it's simplicity but it is not one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHADOWS1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
I wasn't thrilled with this recipe at all. I make a fabulous pot roast and thought this would be a really nice change... beer and red meat, what could go wrong?! It came out ok and tasted better the second night but I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSANMARCO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
We enjoyed this. I found the gravy a little watery but still good. I added some sliced carrots and whole tiny potatoes, and cooked the roast for an extra 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States