Pot Roast in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
So easy and the sauce was yummy. Nice change to plain old pot roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapinitblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Very good and easy and my husband is or can be a picky eater but he did like this and you don't taste the beer at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beema

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Quaker Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
My entire family liked this one! The gravy is loaded with flavor and the meat came out tender and juicy. I complimented this with smothered green beans and rice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was wonderful. Cooked it in a large pan, on the stove top. It cooked for 2.5 hours and the meat was so tender. We used Bass Ale, added freshmushrooms while it was cooking. Served it with a salad.. it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
what a simple, delicious recipe. i added a bag of frozen roasted potatoes about an hour before serving. my boyfriend confused my request to slice up the roast and diced it into bite sized pieces... but it turned out to be a great beef stew. my mother was visiting and requested the recipe. thanks! this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Easy! Tasty! Inexpensive! I don't know why this one got any negative reviews. I followed the recipe almost to the letter (I didn't have any bay leaf, and I used ground cloves instead of whole) and it turned out perfectly. At first I noticed a slight bitter aftertaste like a few people mentioned, but I attribute this to the cloves and/or beer. If the beer is responsible for the bitterness, could be the type of beer used. I used a lager (Moosehead). Also, the recipe didn't call for salt, but I added maybe half a teaspoon. This is a definite "make again"! Would go nice with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I made this awhile ago. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkane47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
It would have been better if it didnt have a hint of beer taste. LOL so I guess don't try this if you don't like beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
So easy. So tasty. I used my crockpot. Seared the meat first and sauteed the vegetables. Used Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic soup. I used a tri-tip roast and it was so moist and tender that my 17 year old who is NOT a red meat fan, loved it. Next time will cook some wide egg noodles and serve it like a stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was a great meal. I was suprised by the flavor with the beer and clove. It had a taste reminiscent of beef stroganoff. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States