Pot Roast in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
First, I never cook meat so I was a bit fearful about ruining a $15 roast. (My mom is living with me while undergoing cancer treatment and I'm pulling out all the stops to get her to eat. She gave it 5 stars!) I followed the recipe with the following changes: I added and an extra clove of garlic and stalk of celery. I also added a handful of rehydrated porcini mushrooms and soaking liquid, some Worchestershire sauce, and a few shakes of Maggi seasoning which I think is MSG. After simmering for 40 minutes, I realed the stovetop method was too slow, so I cut the meat in half and put part of it in the pressure cooker and left the other section in the pan. The pan gravy was delicious. I used Magic Hat #9 as the beer and small bay leaves and there was no bitter aftertaste or anthing. The gravy in the pressure cooker was thinner, but the meat was very, very tender. I ended up comingling the lefovers from both pots and dicing the meat and made a bit of stew that I will add pearl onions, mmushrooms and some sour cream to and serve over egg noodles later in the week. I think this is a good recipe for beginners and will use it as a base to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I added extra seasonings so the beer flavor wouldn't be to overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was yummy over mashed potatoes. I used Guiness, but I'd love to try a different flavor with it as well. I took off the lid and simmered about 15 minutes extra to thicken up the gravy. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This turned out tasty and moist, but the meat was over done. I used a 3.5 pound roast (larger than what the recipe calls for) and cooked it for 2 hours. Next time I'll reduce the cooking time by a half hour, but still use a larger than called for roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Outstanding, I used this recipe on a roast I cooked for a large family diner and it was a big hit. I am not a great cook so you made me look good. Everyone was very surprised. Thank you Mary G
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This pot roast recipe is great! The roast which would have been on the tougher side came out moist, tender and flavorful. I highly recommend it for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Made this on Thanksgiving along with a turkey and this was a bigger hit than the turkey!! This is definetly my favorite roast recipe!! I cooked in a crock pot with veggies (added the veggies halfway through cooking time) and it was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I followed this recipe to the letter except used 2 cans of cream of mushroom (3.5 lbs. of meat) and I marinated the meat for 2 hours first (olive oil, granulated garlic and Kroger steak seasoning - similar to Dales). This turned out excellent and it is a terrific way to use less expensive cuts of meat (particularly round steak).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
A couple weeks ago I made a roast from a recipe on this site and proclaimed it to be the best roast I'd ever had. Well, this is taking it's spot. The meat was beyond tender and so juicy. I did put all the ingredients, plus a bag of baby carrots, into the slow cooker instead. Cooked it on high for 6 hours, low for one. Thickened the gravy with instant potato flakes. So, so, SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This was really good, and different from the standard cream of mushroom, onion packet and beef broth pot roasts out there; but I did feel it was missing something. Wasn't able to put my finger on it exactly. I did use my crock pot and threw in the bay leaf sans the cloves (not a huge fan of cloves) along with maybe a tablespoon of beef boullion granuels. Let it cook all day and threw some baby carrots and potatoes in about half way. Everything was tender and delicious and once the drippings were thickened, they made a wonderful gravy. I would like to try this one again, only I will experiment with the spices. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States