Pot Roast in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Good but needed more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was okay, but I honestly couldn't get over the smell of boiled meat that accompanied it. I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Wow this was really good. I baked my 3 pounder in the oven for 4.5 hours at 325. I had to thicken the sauce with a little cornstarch to make a gravy. Best gravy ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Good, but nothing special. In this braised beef dish, I used a sirloin tip roast. Because it was so lean, the meat was a little dry and chewy. A chuck or other more heavily marbled cut would probably have been better (with degreasing at the end). Still, this was just OK. For much better beef/beer braises, check out the carbonades on foodnetwork.com and in Julia Child's "Mastering" book, vol. 1. Both use more onion, a little brown sugar, and a very interesting but subtle vinegar finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Very good when you want beefy, creamy comfort food. I followed the initial steps and then put it all in the crockpot for about 8 hours. I was a bit worried at first because the dark beer I added (Smithwick's) did give the sauce a slightly bitter taste, but after cooking all day it all mellowed nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Terrific! I doubled the recipe and everyone truly enjoyed it. We will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Only modification I did was using a dash of ground cloves (my husband isn't a big fan) and adding mushroom from a can. I used Guinness and the roast tasted way too strong. I'll have to try this again with a lighter beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I love cooking with either beer or wine which is why this recipe caught my eye. I did omit the cloves as I'm not a huge fan. I also added some beef broth, more seasonings and a bit of Gravy Master. Once the meat was done, I thickened with flour and some of the fat that had accumulated. This also works really nicely in the slow cooker once you've browned the meat. Just make sure you deglaze the pan with the liquid before transferring it to the crock pot. Very good Christy and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I did not follow this recipe exactly but the dish was very tasty. Here's what I did: Did sear the roast in oil Did not include chopped onion, celery or garlic Cooked in a slow cooker Added potatoes, a little nutmeg, clove powder, onion powder, lots of season salt, bay leaves. The main advantage of my changes is that it saved preparation time. I would not have thought to mix beer and mushroom soup. My husband loved this and asked for THIRDS, my 3 year old ate it and she is very picky about eating meat. I am not known for my cooking, my husband is the cook in our house, so this was a big win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was really easy and delicious. I didn't have any celery, but I did have a fennel bulb. Figured they're both in the same family, I think, so I cut it up and used it instead. It was really good. The gravy was delicious. Everyone loved it. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin Square, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States