Pot Roast in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was great. I used extra garlic and omitted the cloves, though if (when) I do this again, I'll use them. We used a bottom round, and it was really tender and made super sandwiches through the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Good but nothing spectacular. I left out the celery and cloves and used a single bay leaf. I seared the meat before putting it in the crock pot for the afternoon and the meat was very tender. I served it with mashed potatoes and used the sauce as gravy. It made very good gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
smelled absolutely divine while cooking. Made excellent gravy and I tossed it all in my slow cooker! Thanks for posting such an easy but tasty meal for when you're in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Great recipe. I only tweaked it slightly. I added another can of cream of mushroom for more gravy, used garlic powder (its what I had), 1 bay leaf and no cloves (didn't have any). I also used less veggie oil and used bacon instead. After searing the roast with the bacon, I cut up the bacon and left it in the final product. Made for great taste. Also added pepper and salt to the final gravy. I also made this in an oven. If you do, use a roasting pan you can cover (I bought a disposable one) and then put it in for 2 hours at 350 then another 20 mins after you slice up the meat. I also thickened the gravy a little with some flour and cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I used tenderized round steak for this. It was good but not sensational. My family liked it but never said anything about making it again. PRob. won't do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
The picture looks a little gross
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
i thought it was too 'clovey' tasting. I wouldn't cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I used a boneless beef blade roast. Rubbed it with salt, pepper, Louisiana hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce. I omitted the celery and whole cloves. Added celery seed to the onions and garlic to make up for the lack of celery flavour. Since I didn't have the cloves I simply added the bay leaves to the sauce. Used reduced-sodium cream of mushroom soup. Only simmered the roast in the sauce for one hour to avoid making the meat too tough. Thickened the sauce with a half cup of red wine and two teaspoons of cornstarch. Good taste, but I think if I had used cloves the sauce would have had more depth. With the addition of red wine, I simmered the sauce for about 10 minutes before adding back the sliced roast. Served this with a cabbage dish and some large-cut french fries. If I make this again it would most likely be in the slow cooker to achieve a more tender meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Very easy to make and superb sauce flavor. Our company loved it! Next time I'll use the slow cooker and add more veggies to soak up the great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I followed this recipe pretty much to a "t", except I did not have any cheesecloth, so I put the bay leaves right in the sauce and used ground cloves. It was delicious! My hubby said it was definitely one I could make for him again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States