Pot Roast in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Outstanding. I didn't add the cloves or bay leaf. I used polish beer and a jar of turkey gravy/three cans of sliced mushrooms because I didn't have mushroom soup. I also used salt pepper and garlic/pepper on the roast before i cooked it. I was worried about cooking a roast in the roasting pan on top of the stove because my pan is large and oval. I was afraid it would ruin the pan or heat unevenly but it was perfect. I let my three pound angus chuck roast simmer for 4 hours while I worked around the house. It smelled heavenly and was perfect when I served it. I threw baking potatoes and whole carrots in next to the roast. Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSARAB

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Left out the cloves..didn't appeal to me. Slow cooked in roaster. Excellent texture, flavor, and aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very very good. I was in a hurry so I skipped the onion, celery, by leaves and cloves. I just put it in the crock pot with the other basic stuff and it was awesome! I added flour to the sauce after it cooked and it made wonderful gravy! I'll make this again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
My family loved this. I did add some thyme to the sauce but other than that it turned out really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hokker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I cooked a 3 pound roast on the stove, as directed. And it took 4 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Oh wow!!! I used Fat Tire beer and let this one slow cook all day, about 10 hours total, the meat fell apart it was so tender, and the flavor!! Clove was a very nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by One Hot Dish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by akaEve
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I loved making this dish. It's made with ingredients I usually have on hand. I thought my gravy was too thin when I took the roast out of the pan to cut so I added some corn starch. Then being lazy, I added carrots and potatoes for a one-dish Meal. I made it all on the stovetop. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaEve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blair, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Herman, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
We really enjoyed this. Be sure to add salt and pepper when you brown the meat, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I'm not a fan of pot roast myself, but I made this in the crock pot for my boyfriend. I always ask him how many stars he thinks I should put on A.R., lol! He says this one is definitely deserving of 5! I didn't have any celery, so I skipped it. I browned the roast in bacon drippings as per one suggestion I read. Then I tossed it in the slow cooker, covered it with the onions and garlic, and dumped in my beer (Yuengling Lager) and mushroom soup. I did this just as I was leaving for work, and 6 hours later he enjoyed an awesome homemade meal while I was away. Thank you ChristyJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I used a london broil and followed the recipe to the letter. Came out great! I cooked mine in the crock pot on high for about 6 hours, then low for about 2 more.The london broil literally fell apart when I was taking it out. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States