Pot Roast for Many Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
My family really enjoyed this recipe! L. Heimbaugh - Illinois
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This * was * so * good! I'll never make pot roast any other way again! I used real butter instead of margarine and Knorr brand brown gravy mix. And I think next time I'll use a larger roast (6 lbs, maybe), since we had a ton of leftover veggies (but they were goooood). The roast was tender and juicy and the seasoning was just right. If you like the juxtaposition of slightly sweet and salty, then this recipe is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Very good recipe. Great teste! A few less potatoes and carrots makes a more balanced meal. Or douubling the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
My husband was not very thrilled when I told him we were having roast. All the other roast that I did before never seemed to turn out. This one was great! I added slivers of garlic inside the meat and added pepper. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
We loved the flavors! I didn't cook the potatoes with the roast. We wanted mashed potatoes instead. I also left the carrots in bigger chunks instead of diced. The sweet and salty were a great combination. I wasn't sure at first, but my family requested that I make it again and again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I really, really wanted this to be a 5-star recipe, but it just wasn't. The beef and the veggies were yummy, but my husband took a bite and said, "Hmmm... The gravy's sweet." In husband-talk at my house, that means, "Why did you ruin the gravy with all that sugar?" (He tries to be nice about it.) He liked the beef, but he only took about 2 bites of his rice with the gravy. (Please note that I did rub the sugar directly onto the roast, along with the other spices, but in cooking, all of the sugar ran into the gravy, which I expected.) I also found the butter rubbed on the roast to be excessive, and I found myself trying to skim a HUGE layer of fat off of the top of the gravy when the roast was done. I don't think the butter contributed a whole lot to the recipe. This is a good starter recipe, though, and I may try it again minus the butter and sugar. I liked the mix of onion, garlic, and brown gravy powder. Just a little too sweet and fatty. Thanks, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Perfect basic recipe. I think I like the smaller roasts better, though, especially since I had to cram the huge thing into my 5 gallon stockpot! I was a bit skeptical about the instant gravy, but man did it taste better than my bland, lumpy, cornflowery version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Potatoes and Carrots were WONDERFUL although the meat to me and my husband wasnt anything to brag about. I'll probably make again, maybe adding some garlic and other spices. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Although I didn't reduce the temp (oops)and I omitted the potatoes because we wanted mashed, the roast came out tender and juicy and my husband loved it too! I will make it again. I didn't use the butter, I just sprayed butter flavored cooking spray onto the meat prior to the spices etc...worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States