Pot Roast Dips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Loved this! I had a 4 pound rump roast, twice as big as called for in the recipe, so I made a few adjustments. First, I used beefy onion soup mix since that's what I had and I much prefer it over the plain onion soup mix anyway. I did add the packet of au jus gravy mix, 1/2 cup red wine for half of the water, and for extra liquid to accomodate the larger roast, an 8-oz. carton of beef stock. I also added 2 tsp. of Italian seasoning. I cooked it on low, about 7 hours, then chilled it overnight. The cold meat is firm and slices perfectly, which I like better than shredding it. The meat was melt in your mouth tender and richly flavorful, as was the au jus, which I served in ramekins alongside the sandwich. On a buttered hoagie or sub roll, this was just delicious, even without the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I gave this five stars with one alteration: I used onion and herb Mrs. Dash instead of the onion soup mix. The Mrs. Dash contains no sodium; the onion soup mixed with the au jus has almost 1000 mg of sodium! I used 6 tsp. of Mrs. Dash to equal one packet of soup mix. Very yummy sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Really good and easy! I made this for a football game. Everyone loved it. I did add 1/2 of a thinly sliced onion, when I put the other ingredients in the slow cooker. Thanks, this is a crowd pleasing keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Doubled this and made the day before my get-to-gether. Refrigerated in my crockpot insert and the next day put back on the crock to reheat. The best part about doing that for me was that all of the fat came to the top and solidified .....just used a spoon and it all came right off in solid form....so I felt better about using the drippings to dip these wonderful sandwiches. Our company loved them, served on rolls with swiss cheese. Just delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Fantastic! I have to admit, I didn't have the highest of expectations. Just tasting the meat I kept thinking it needed something, but couldn't decide what. I was wrong! Once this was shredded I put it back in the juice to cook for a couple more hours. I toasted a hoagie roll, added a little mayo & spicy mustard, then the meat & cheese - popped it back in the oven just to melt cheese - then a little lettuce & tomato. Added a little bowl of the jus for dipping. WOW! The result was one fabulous sandwich! Loved, Loved, Loved it! One note: This cut makes definitely has a lot of fat. So be SURE to remove as much as you can when shredding the meat AND definitely chill and remove the floating fat or use a fat-separating pitcher then pour the jus back over the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was an amazing recipe! I used a 4lb bottom round roast and just upped the liquid to 1 1/2 cups but it came out perfectly and there was enough meat left over to make Beef Stroganoff the following day-The flavor of the gravy is so luscious that it almost seems like a restaurant meal-Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
So good. My husband's friends hear I'm making this and next thing I know I have a house full of hungry men. Favorite all around. I did find the original recipe a little too salty, so I use 2 cups of water instead of just the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milltown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Outstanding and so easy! After shredding the meat, I cooked it in the sauce until absorbed and it was so full of flavor - no dipping sauce needed. Substituted 2/3 can of beer for the water with excellent results. Super flavor, but a little salty, so might try 1/2 packet of onion soup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Very good. I added to the mix canned mushrooms. I also used the juice to dip my sandwiches in like a french dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Super easy and super good! I love that this recipe requires only two simple ingredients that I usually have on hand anyway. The only change I made was using beefy onion soup instead of the regular onion, because I prefer it and that's the only kind I buy. I served the sandwiches on soft, fresh kaiser rolls. The picky eaters in my family raved over them, and they agreed that no cheese was needed. Delicious with just meat and roll. I have made this many times and it is staying in my regular rotation. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States