Pot Roast Dips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Outstanding and so easy! After shredding the meat, I cooked it in the sauce until absorbed and it was so full of flavor - no dipping sauce needed. Substituted 2/3 can of beer for the water with excellent results. Super flavor, but a little salty, so might try 1/2 packet of onion soup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very good. I would serve these with cheddar slices, has more depth than shredded mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made this over the weekend for my family and they turned out wonderful except for one thing, they were SUPER salty. Next time I will try cutting the sodium by using Mrs. dash instead of the onion soup or just cutting out the onion soup all together. But other than for the saltyness they were great. I did broil the sandwiches after I put the cheese on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Loved this! I had a 4 pound rump roast, twice as big as called for in the recipe, so I made a few adjustments. First, I used beefy onion soup mix since that's what I had and I much prefer it over the plain onion soup mix anyway. I did add the packet of au jus gravy mix, 1/2 cup red wine for half of the water, and for extra liquid to accomodate the larger roast, an 8-oz. carton of beef stock. I also added 2 tsp. of Italian seasoning. I cooked it on low, about 7 hours, then chilled it overnight. The cold meat is firm and slices perfectly, which I like better than shredding it. The meat was melt in your mouth tender and richly flavorful, as was the au jus, which I served in ramekins alongside the sandwich. On a buttered hoagie or sub roll, this was just delicious, even without the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I gave this five stars with one alteration: I used onion and herb Mrs. Dash instead of the onion soup mix. The Mrs. Dash contains no sodium; the onion soup mixed with the au jus has almost 1000 mg of sodium! I used 6 tsp. of Mrs. Dash to equal one packet of soup mix. Very yummy sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
use half the onoin mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by screachures

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was very tasty! I think I'll use half of a packet of au jus next time because the dip was a little too salty. My husband really liked this meal, though! As recommended by other users, I put the meat and cheese on the bread and then broiled them for a couple of minutes in the oven. I was amazed that it didn't take any longer to cook when starting with frozen meat. (I did cut the roast in two, though, so it would heat all the way through.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Super easy very tasty.it was a bit to salty and could have made a little more juice so next time I'll use a full beer and add a pinch of thyme and rosemary to brighten the au jus.I browned the beef the night before then deglazed the pan with the beer mixed in the other ingredients then through it in the crok and placed it in the fridge.Next morning I put the crock on,when I came home it was good to go.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was soo awesome and easy!! I followed the directions exactly and couldn't have been happier. It fed five adults with hearty appetites and we still had plenty for leftovers the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Sooo easy and delicious. Followed recipe exactly in preparing the meat. Used smaller rolls and didn't even need the cheese. Thanks for a minimal prep/delicious recipe. (By the way, I don't usually even like meat!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States