Pot Roast Caribe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I made this as is. my roast was 2.5 lbs. sauce will eventually increase. don't add more sauce. just cook on low for 8hrs and it will be almost completely submerged in juice. I did put some veggies on bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I made this for my family yesterday. Following the advice of the other posters, I doubled the spices and left out the potatoes, carrots and celery. (Instead, I served it with mashed potatoes and steamed carrots on the side.) Also, I took the roast out of the pot after eight hours, covered it with foil while I skimmed some of the fat from the gravy. I then cooked the gravy down on the stove for 10 minutes because my husband likes a thicker gravy. Overall, my family loved it. They raved about the tender meat and the rich gravy. There's a battle going on over what we will go with the leftovers: hot beef sandwiches or soft beef tacos! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newbatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This roast was so tasty - it had a unique flavour that was mouthwatering! It has taken over as my new roast recipe. I prepared it in a crockpot and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Made a few changes...omitted potatoes, added 3 stalks celery used Splenda instead of sugar. Added a can of diced tomatoes and some red wine. Followed the spices exactly. Also browned meat first. When I was making the sauce, I tasted it and I thought it was going to be awful...BUT after slow cooking it the combination of the meat juices and the sauce was absolutely awesome. Served over noodles for the kids and they loved it too. Husband rated it a sure keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was very good, even though from the large number of ingredients that went in, only a few came through... but I am sure the flavor was a combination of them all. I tend to prefer easier slow cooker dishes where you don't have to use 2 separate pots on the stovetop and it can all be done in the crockpot, but other than that, this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I followed this recipe except I did not use any tomato sauce, just extra water. The flavor was fantastic. I also, as I always do, waited to add the potatoes and carrots until about 45 minutes before the end of cooking (I don't like mushy carrots). I removed the potatoes when I set the pot roast out and oven-roasted them "dry" with butter. This was a big hit with my family. The leftovers made a great roast-beef-hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
We really enjoyed this! I followed the recipe exactly as written. The flavoring is just right, and no particular spice strikes a prominent or discordant note in the sauce. My roommate, who loves pot roast and traditional flavors, thought this was delicious. I cut the roast into three sections to help it cook more thoroughly. Next time I'll add more carrots and celery, since there was lots of sauce and a bit of extra space in my crockpot. What a great change from my usual pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Shans
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Yum, yum. Made this recipe a couple of times. I love the variation on the traditional roast beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
this is FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANDT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva On The Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Excellent dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States