Pot Roast Caribe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Yummy! I agree with other reviewers who said that it didn't taste as exotic as you might expect given the ingredients, but it was very flavorful and the sauce was very rich. The sweet potatoes and carrots were a perfect compliment to the sauce. This would not have fit in my slow cooker so I did it in the oven, as explained in my review. I also made a few modifications to the method which worked out great. I made this a day ahead and it was delicious! A great alternative to the standard pot roast. My 3 and 5 year olds liked it too. A few modifications: *Used brown sugar and reduced to 1 Tbsp *Used 3 fist-sized potatoes (cut in 1/2), 1 big sweet potato (cut in 1/4s) & 2 carrots for the veggies. *Browned meat. Remove. Saute onions and celery together in the fat. Then add all spices (NOT flour) for 1 minute. Then add flour and stir constantly for 1 more minute. Deglaze with about 1/2 cup red wine. Then add tomato sauce. Boil. Then add meat. Bake just the meat/onion mixture in oven at 325 for 3 hrs, periodically adding more water. Add veggies, reduce to 300 and cook 1 hour more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I was in a "roast rut" and couldn't bring myself to making yet another roast. However, when I stumbled upon this recipe this morning, I was thrilled to see a recipe that included some different, almost "exotic" spices/flavors. I loved it and it turned out well even though I messed up the cooking method (mixed the flour, chopped onion, and all spices in with the tomato sauce which resulted in a paste..oops). It all cooked down nicely, however, and everyone enjoyed it. I really liked the new flavors and will make it again. My husband, who is a "no frills, try nothing new" guy liked it, but wasn't as thrilled about it as I was. I think you have to be a little daring to really LOVE this recipe...but nevertheless everyone still enjoyed it and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I had a hankering for good pot roast today, but wanted to do something different from my old stand by recipe with dry onion soup mix. I found this recipe and tried it. It was really good! The roast came out so juicy and tender and my husband and 3 sons all had second servings!! The flavor of the sauce reminds me a lot of Cincinnati Chile, and I loved it. It was a very pleasant change of pace from our regular old pot roast. Thanks for a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
We really enjoyed this! I followed the recipe exactly as written. The flavoring is just right, and no particular spice strikes a prominent or discordant note in the sauce. My roommate, who loves pot roast and traditional flavors, thought this was delicious. I cut the roast into three sections to help it cook more thoroughly. Next time I'll add more carrots and celery, since there was lots of sauce and a bit of extra space in my crockpot. What a great change from my usual pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I tried to make this on the stovetop, as I didn't have 8 hrs. I cooked it for 2 hrs. and it was done, but tough. I will allow more time for cooking or use the oven or crock pot next time! I love the flavors, very rich and great for dipping bread. Not as exotic as I would have thought with the cocoa and cinnamon. I think it adds richness without "weirdness".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My family enjoyed this! I used a larger roast, added some tomato paste and water to make up for needing more sauce. I also added some red wine, and did the spices at abut 1.5 times what is suggested. I didn't have a crock pot, so I cooked it on the stove for about 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devils Lake, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was very good, even though from the large number of ingredients that went in, only a few came through... but I am sure the flavor was a combination of them all. I tend to prefer easier slow cooker dishes where you don't have to use 2 separate pots on the stovetop and it can all be done in the crockpot, but other than that, this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I liked this alot ,Wanted something new. Diden't care for the Vegies in the sause and would definatly add a little heat next time. Made great sandwiches the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I used a little less than 3 lbs of meat and there are plenty of leftovers. I had to feed 3 adults, 2 teens and 2 toddlers. We did eat with rice though. I made exactly as written but didnt seem like there was enough liquid so I added 1/3 cup water and it still didnt make much sauce...might be because I had to cook for longer than 8 hours...?? darn job...lol. Anyway everyone ate it but not too excited about it. I thought it was good and had seconds. I will try again with my own twist next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This recipe was very different from any pot roast recipe I ever tried. I tried it with a pork roast, and it turned out amazing. And in the end, I didn't mind eating left overs not one bit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States