Pot Roast Caribe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I liked this alot ,Wanted something new. Diden't care for the Vegies in the sause and would definatly add a little heat next time. Made great sandwiches the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I had a hankering for good pot roast today, but wanted to do something different from my old stand by recipe with dry onion soup mix. I found this recipe and tried it. It was really good! The roast came out so juicy and tender and my husband and 3 sons all had second servings!! The flavor of the sauce reminds me a lot of Cincinnati Chile, and I loved it. It was a very pleasant change of pace from our regular old pot roast. Thanks for a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
If your looking for something that is different then this is it. I wasn't sure what to expect, with the cocoa and cinnamon but it was really good. The only thing that I did different was that I added about a 1/4 cup of red wine to the sauce. It helped in giving it a very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I tried to make this on the stovetop, as I didn't have 8 hrs. I cooked it for 2 hrs. and it was done, but tough. I will allow more time for cooking or use the oven or crock pot next time! I love the flavors, very rich and great for dipping bread. Not as exotic as I would have thought with the cocoa and cinnamon. I think it adds richness without "weirdness".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I was in a "roast rut" and couldn't bring myself to making yet another roast. However, when I stumbled upon this recipe this morning, I was thrilled to see a recipe that included some different, almost "exotic" spices/flavors. I loved it and it turned out well even though I messed up the cooking method (mixed the flour, chopped onion, and all spices in with the tomato sauce which resulted in a paste..oops). It all cooked down nicely, however, and everyone enjoyed it. I really liked the new flavors and will make it again. My husband, who is a "no frills, try nothing new" guy liked it, but wasn't as thrilled about it as I was. I think you have to be a little daring to really LOVE this recipe...but nevertheless everyone still enjoyed it and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My family enjoyed this! I used a larger roast, added some tomato paste and water to make up for needing more sauce. I also added some red wine, and did the spices at abut 1.5 times what is suggested. I didn't have a crock pot, so I cooked it on the stove for about 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devils Lake, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
unusual, but very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This roast was so tasty - it had a unique flavour that was mouthwatering! It has taken over as my new roast recipe. I prepared it in a crockpot and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Good flavor, I liked that it was a new twist on your standard pot roast without being over the top. I took the advice of another reviewer and skipped the potatoes, carrots, and celery - glad I did. The only real change I made, and I'd do it again, I didn't have tomato paste and subbed with a can of diced tomatoes, undrained. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Used yams and made a few other changes and it worked well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States