Pot Roast Caribe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is a really great and very flavoursome. Whole family loved it. Didn't change a thing. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Yummy! I agree with other reviewers who said that it didn't taste as exotic as you might expect given the ingredients, but it was very flavorful and the sauce was very rich. The sweet potatoes and carrots were a perfect compliment to the sauce. This would not have fit in my slow cooker so I did it in the oven, as explained in my review. I also made a few modifications to the method which worked out great. I made this a day ahead and it was delicious! A great alternative to the standard pot roast. My 3 and 5 year olds liked it too. A few modifications: *Used brown sugar and reduced to 1 Tbsp *Used 3 fist-sized potatoes (cut in 1/2), 1 big sweet potato (cut in 1/4s) & 2 carrots for the veggies. *Browned meat. Remove. Saute onions and celery together in the fat. Then add all spices (NOT flour) for 1 minute. Then add flour and stir constantly for 1 more minute. Deglaze with about 1/2 cup red wine. Then add tomato sauce. Boil. Then add meat. Bake just the meat/onion mixture in oven at 325 for 3 hrs, periodically adding more water. Add veggies, reduce to 300 and cook 1 hour more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Used yams and made a few other changes and it worked well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Good flavor, I liked that it was a new twist on your standard pot roast without being over the top. I took the advice of another reviewer and skipped the potatoes, carrots, and celery - glad I did. The only real change I made, and I'd do it again, I didn't have tomato paste and subbed with a can of diced tomatoes, undrained. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This roast was so tasty - it had a unique flavour that was mouthwatering! It has taken over as my new roast recipe. I prepared it in a crockpot and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
unusual, but very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My family enjoyed this! I used a larger roast, added some tomato paste and water to make up for needing more sauce. I also added some red wine, and did the spices at abut 1.5 times what is suggested. I didn't have a crock pot, so I cooked it on the stove for about 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devils Lake, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I was in a "roast rut" and couldn't bring myself to making yet another roast. However, when I stumbled upon this recipe this morning, I was thrilled to see a recipe that included some different, almost "exotic" spices/flavors. I loved it and it turned out well even though I messed up the cooking method (mixed the flour, chopped onion, and all spices in with the tomato sauce which resulted in a paste..oops). It all cooked down nicely, however, and everyone enjoyed it. I really liked the new flavors and will make it again. My husband, who is a "no frills, try nothing new" guy liked it, but wasn't as thrilled about it as I was. I think you have to be a little daring to really LOVE this recipe...but nevertheless everyone still enjoyed it and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I tried to make this on the stovetop, as I didn't have 8 hrs. I cooked it for 2 hrs. and it was done, but tough. I will allow more time for cooking or use the oven or crock pot next time! I love the flavors, very rich and great for dipping bread. Not as exotic as I would have thought with the cocoa and cinnamon. I think it adds richness without "weirdness".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
If your looking for something that is different then this is it. I wasn't sure what to expect, with the cocoa and cinnamon but it was really good. The only thing that I did different was that I added about a 1/4 cup of red wine to the sauce. It helped in giving it a very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States