Pot Roast Caribe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
this is FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANDT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva On The Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shans
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Yum, yum. Made this recipe a couple of times. I love the variation on the traditional roast beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
We really enjoyed this! I followed the recipe exactly as written. The flavoring is just right, and no particular spice strikes a prominent or discordant note in the sauce. My roommate, who loves pot roast and traditional flavors, thought this was delicious. I cut the roast into three sections to help it cook more thoroughly. Next time I'll add more carrots and celery, since there was lots of sauce and a bit of extra space in my crockpot. What a great change from my usual pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I followed this recipe except I did not use any tomato sauce, just extra water. The flavor was fantastic. I also, as I always do, waited to add the potatoes and carrots until about 45 minutes before the end of cooking (I don't like mushy carrots). I removed the potatoes when I set the pot roast out and oven-roasted them "dry" with butter. This was a big hit with my family. The leftovers made a great roast-beef-hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I thought this was great although like everyone else I made a few adjustments. I added a can of diced tomatoes in with the sauce, I added about a half a cup of water to cover my veggies, added more potatoes and of course more of the spices, I dont measure spices when cooking so I cant give you an exact amount. I added a little more orange zest which in turn made me add more chili powder, coriander, cumin and I also added some chipotle and some Cajun seasoning to give a little more flavor. Overall I thought this was a great variation from the traditional pot roast and will definitely make it again. I may try to find some other veggies to put in it besides potatoes and carrots.. maybe some green beans??? if I make any other changes I will def. write it up!! Hope you enjoys it as much as me and mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
extremely tender, great change from everyday roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I didn't have all of the spices required for this recipe (missing cumin and coriander) so I'm not sure I can adequately judge. I did think the meat was tender and flavorful. I thought the cinnamon was a bit too prominent. My husband was suspicious of the whole thing but had two helpings nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mathgirl64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Long Neck, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was very good, even though from the large number of ingredients that went in, only a few came through... but I am sure the flavor was a combination of them all. I tend to prefer easier slow cooker dishes where you don't have to use 2 separate pots on the stovetop and it can all be done in the crockpot, but other than that, this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Made a few changes...omitted potatoes, added 3 stalks celery used Splenda instead of sugar. Added a can of diced tomatoes and some red wine. Followed the spices exactly. Also browned meat first. When I was making the sauce, I tasted it and I thought it was going to be awful...BUT after slow cooking it the combination of the meat juices and the sauce was absolutely awesome. Served over noodles for the kids and they loved it too. Husband rated it a sure keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Overall the taste of the sauce was very nice, not very exotic but the amount of sauce was SO off! I ended up having to dilute it with water thus leaving me with a blander recipe than I had ever intended for. I will probably make this again and double or triple the sauce. I overall was very disappointed with how it turned out because of that issue and didn't even finish my dinner which is a rarity around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacylue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States