Posse Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Really liked this. Made it for a bean bake-off at church and it was popular. We let it simmer longer - the flavors blend better and the beef ends up more tender. When I make it again (and I will) I use more corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom cooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful treat! We loved the flavors and textures in the stew. I took the leftovers and frozen them in single serving containers which made great lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysliwy
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I've made this recipe 5 times now.. always something is a variation, an extra can of corn, didn't find the ranch style beans the last time and diced tomatoes with different types of hot peppers in them. Tonight's tomato is with Jalepeño peppers. Always yummy. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I was a little surprised at how good this came out. It is a bit cowboy-like, but it tasted very good and is low fat. I did make a few minor modifications, but I think the dish without alterations would be good. First I sauteed the onion with some garlic and chopped green pepper before adding the meat to brown. I don't know what ranch-style beans are, so I used black beans. Following some reviewers comments, I added a can of creamed corn. And I put the whole thing in the slowcooker. Throughout the week, I served this in different ways and it always was delicious, especially with some homemade southern style cornbread. I'll certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This recipe was as tasty as people implied. Originally we contemplated seasoning the beef but I'm glad we didn't. Also the amount of onion was a bit scary but I'm glad I put the whole thing in because the taste was fabulous. We removed the seeds from the chile and also added the equivalent of 2 cloves of garlic. I'm so excited to have so many leftovers of this simple tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was tasty, crowd-pleasing, and super easy. I added ground red pepper, and it would also taste good with any seasonings you'd use in chili. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I love this recipe! So easy and tasty. My son feels the plain hamburger was a bit bland so we may experiment w/ country sausage or with seasonings for chili as suggested by another reviewer. We're having casual supper on Christmas Day and I plan to make a huge pot of this. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMNOP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This was great. There's only the two of us so we had 1/2 left. Put small box of mac and cheese in left overs and finished it the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
i followed the recipe with the exception of adding minced garlic and jalapenos. 5 kids loved it!! they put shredded cheese on top. I loved it without! low cal too!! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This recipe is so good...perfect as written. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States