Posole Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This recipe is great! The only things I added were onion and garlic..I cut 1 large onion in 4 pieces and about 6 pcs of garlic and boiled for the last 30 to 45 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I did not try this recipe either...but i have a variation of it that I use...Instead of Chilie powder, I use California chilis and rehydrate them, then puree them and after i boil the pork I add in the pureed chilis by straining them through a fine strainer....until it is a nice dark red. Then I add in the hominy and let it boil for awhile...my fiance LOVES this recipe...and even my 3 year old son asks for more. Is my personal favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gemma1288

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Thank you so much for this recipe! So easy & tasted just like my mother-in -law's posole (who is from Mexico). The part of Mexico where she's from only uses pork, not chicken like someone else said. I served it with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Jalapa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Orab, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
try cooking cooking outside on your grill side burner. LP cooks hotter and quicker. Let the neighbors smell the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is a wonderful traditional Posole soup! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Bryan B. I have no idea where your from but here in Oaxaca Mexico we don't make our Posole with pig's heads :P It's actually made with shreadded chicken meat, not w/ pork - but I love your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
My husband loved it and it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ApronStrings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
One of my favorites!!! I doiuble the recipe and use the leftover pork for shredded tacos the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Very good. I used chicken instead of pork and added chicken bouillon and chili powder while cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very easy to make. Husband states its authentic and very very good. Just like the Posole in California. We live in Michigan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States