Posole Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Very good. I used chicken instead of pork and added chicken bouillon and chili powder while cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
try cooking cooking outside on your grill side burner. LP cooks hotter and quicker. Let the neighbors smell the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very easy to make. Husband states its authentic and very very good. Just like the Posole in California. We live in Michigan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This recipe is great! The only things I added were onion and garlic..I cut 1 large onion in 4 pieces and about 6 pcs of garlic and boiled for the last 30 to 45 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I did not try this recipe either...but i have a variation of it that I use...Instead of Chilie powder, I use California chilis and rehydrate them, then puree them and after i boil the pork I add in the pureed chilis by straining them through a fine strainer....until it is a nice dark red. Then I add in the hominy and let it boil for awhile...my fiance LOVES this recipe...and even my 3 year old son asks for more. Is my personal favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gemma1288

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Thank you so much for this recipe! So easy & tasted just like my mother-in -law's posole (who is from Mexico). The part of Mexico where she's from only uses pork, not chicken like someone else said. I served it with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Jalapa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Orab, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is a wonderful traditional Posole soup! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Bryan B. I have no idea where your from but here in Oaxaca Mexico we don't make our Posole with pig's heads :P It's actually made with shreadded chicken meat, not w/ pork - but I love your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
My husband loved it and it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ApronStrings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
One of my favorites!!! I doiuble the recipe and use the leftover pork for shredded tacos the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States