Posole Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Good basic recipe, not quite the same, but good. I prefer to use dried new mexico chiles, soak in boiling water to rehydrdate and then puree in blender, and add pureed chile to soup. The cabbage on top is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLEE01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
This is a really good recipe! I would prefer no cabbage, add some camino, garnish with raw onions and fresh cilantro, serve with corn tortillas. Yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyOlives

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Candler, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Very good. I used chicken instead of pork and added chicken bouillon and chili powder while cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Very good! A few minor alterations...I boiled the pork in the water w/ the chili powder (maybe a little more than what was called for) as well as a couple of spoonfuls of granulated chicken bouilon. A lot of great flavor! I'm already craving more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRESSIEPOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very easy to make. Husband states its authentic and very very good. Just like the Posole in California. We live in Michigan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Yum. My husband is a big Posole fan, and kids ate well. I offered more types of veggies to add when served. Mexican style cheese is also good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
A very easy version of a traditional Mexican soup. I made this to satisfy my son's craving for menudo, which I refuse to cook. (The smell of tripe is overwhelming!) My sixteen year old ate 4 bowls for dinner! I used very lean pork. It was really good, and it was even better the next day! (as most soups are!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomWifeTeacherCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Delicious! I made this receipe with the slightest alteration. the last 30-45 min i simmered it, i put in the soup some cilantro not cut or anything and some lime and oh it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
needs more flavor. Not very authentic. Add lime wedges on the side with cilantro, chopped cactus, cotija cheese, pureed chili sauce and onion for more flavor. We simmer whole garlic heads in our base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaBloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Bryan B. I have no idea where your from but here in Oaxaca Mexico we don't make our Posole with pig's heads :P It's actually made with shreadded chicken meat, not w/ pork - but I love your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States