Posh Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
This was a great recipe. It was delicious and easy to make. The thing I liked most is that it didn't taste like the usual squash casseroles that you use cream soups in. It has a very unique, light taste. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This had really good flavor, but the 2 eggs gave it an unexpected consistency that we didn't really like. Would make again with one, or even no eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This is amazing! Only to be fair, I did modify the recipe. I didn't have the parmisan, so I used swiss and it turned out so yummy! My husband who hates squash loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Very Good..I used butternut squash..I sauteed the onion ( iused a red one) w/ the green pepper and then added it to the boiled squash. I also used 1/2 cup light mayo and 1/2 cup of a veggie parm/mozz blend...one to 2 T sprinkled on top all that lowered the calorie content and made the best way to make butternut squash I've ever tasted...My husband loved it too!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I tried this and thought it needs a little salt and pepper. Otherwise it was great. I used green and yellow squash. I think it would be even better with sausage or bacon crumbled into it. You could used green, yellow, and red peppers for color or if you like it hot use hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I wasn't quite sure when I was making this what the texture was supposed to be like. I used one butternut and one accorn squash, sliced them and removed the seeds, then peeled, cubed, and boiled the pieces along with the onions. Once they were good and soft, I smooshed them with the mixer, along with the rest of the ingredients. Topped with the bread crumbs and baked. I got lots and lots of compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This is wonderful. I keep coming back to this recipe in the summer to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I cooked this recipe for my parents, grandmother, brother, and my niece and nephew. They all loved it! It was extremely easy to make and even the kids wanted seconds. I added garlic and a little bit of sour cream, and I used Italian breadcrumbs. This will be a summer favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fruit Heights, Utah, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Wonderful all-round recipe - one more good way to use up the hoards of squash I get out of my garden each summer. As noted by previous reviewers, recipe needs salt. Like one other reviewer, I sauteed the onion and bell pepper, instead of boiling. I squeezed all water out of the squash, with the result that the recipe was maybe a hair dry? Next time I make this, I will try adding 1/4 cup honey-dijon mustard and a teaspoon of salt, and I think I won't be so zealous about squeezing out ALL the water...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYGRWMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
My husband loved it, even my 19month old wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States