Posh Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was really good, but also really rich. When I make it again (and I *will* make it again!), I'm going to reduce the mayo to 1/2 cup, and add either minced garlic or garlic powder, along with a dash of cayenne. This actually tastes better the next day, as the flavors have had a chance to meld fully. Great dish - thank your for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious!! I used Panko Italian Style bread crumbs. Kids (young and old) loved it. It reminds me of the Au gratin cheesy potatoes (with the hash browns), except sweeter due to what ever squash you choose. I used banana squash. It sort of had a mashed potato consistency. It's definitely a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Sounded good, but we didn't care for it. Bland, mushy, and too much mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
We liked the Posh Squash. I used Miracle Whip I was out of Mayo. The Whip gave it some Zip. The wife even took the left over’s for lunch. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I brought this dish to a family function (my boyfriend's family btw) and it was gone in 60 seconds! Everyone loved it, and now when we go to get-togethers I am asked to bring this dish. I do admit to tweaking it just a bit....I added fresh garlic and put it into mini muffin tins with the little paper cups (can't remember what those thingies are called) anyways so they were "finger-foods". I am making this dish tonight to go with a ham steak! Thank you for a different and yummy approach to squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsweetburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
i fed this to ten kids and everyone LOVED it.. I have since cooked this a few other times and its always a hit! I don't use the bell peppers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
All the recipes I have ever seen for this use summer squash. I was surprised to see that so many people liked it with winter squash. It is wonderful with summer squash (and easier) so I will have to try with winter squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I am not a fan of "sweet" vegetables, so this recipe appealed to me. I had one butternut that I had no idea how much it weighed....so I just followed the directions, used one egg, fat free mayo (probably less than 3/4 cup) and grated Kraft blend of 2% white sharp cheddar/swiss and parm cheese...and OMG!!! Fabulous!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I pureed the squash like other reviewers said and after adding all the ingredients was left with practically a soup! It tasted like kinda tangy but sweet. The onion didn't add much. The cheese was so over powered by the mayo you could barely taste it and the bell pepper just looked weird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States