Portuguese Sweet Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Tastes just like the arroz doce I ate in Portugal. I get to relive that time through this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I love this recipe !!! All of my friends love "my" sweet rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I added a lemon peel just like mom used to and sprinkle of cinnamon on top too!! All the memories...ty for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was delicious! I followed the submitter's suggestion for thicker pudding so I used 3 eggs and 1 1/4 c rice. I was a little nervous that it still wasn't going to be thick or cook enough but the last 10-15 minutes it thickens quite a bit. Plus the egg thickens it as well. I added vanilla and sprinkled cinnamon on top when served. Mmm mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
If you add a little cinnamon and nut meg to the to it tastes very very old country!!!! excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I found this to be very sweet so I added lemon peels to the boiling water and squeezed some lemon juice in the milk. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
being portuguese raised american and knowing nothing of my culture this was a treat that i needed. this is so good ill probably make more once this is gone. but i would suggest a couple of things. i didnt rinse my rice so the starch would help the texture and it did. and next time ill cook it longer kuz my rice didnt cook all the way. and ill add more rice and egg. whats the point to having pudding if it isnt thick? and i added vanilla too kuz so many people added it how could i not put it in. and it didnt taste like egg like some people had problems with. but very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
My mom always added lemon rind to her arroz doce so I added the rind from one lemon to this recipe. Cut, not grated. Remove the rind before placing the rice into the serving dishes. Bellisimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
My mom use to make this but she never added vanilla. if you add lemon peels, it takes away the strong taste of the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
MmmmMMmmmMMmmm.... aroz doce.... my mom make this and when i did it at home mmmmmmm just like mommas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States