Portuguese Sweet Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I halved this recipe, as I was making it just for me. I used 2 eggs to make it thicker, which I will continue to do when I make it again, as it gives it a nice pudding/custardy consistency. I also added about 1 tsp real vanilla, pinch of salt, and 1 Tbsp butter and substituted 1 cup of milk with canned coconut milk that I had leftover. It was very good, delicious for dessert or a snack. This is good warm or cold. ADVICE ON COOKING TIME: This needs to boil in order to cook properly, even though the recipe says not to. Keep it at a very low simmer for 30 min or so, stirring frequently so as not to burn the bottom. I tried it first the way the recipe said with no boiling and it never did cook, even after over an hour. Once I brought it to a simmer, it cooked perfectly within 10 min. Then add a little of the rice mixture to the beaten eggs to temper them or your pudding will contain scrambled eggs -- yuck! Great recipe, thanks John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I also had a problem with the rice not cooking (and I cooked it a full hour!) I remembered my Portuguese mother-in-law saying she started cooking her rice first and added the milk later. SO, I actually strained the first batch, kept the prepared milk/pudding and threw out the rice. I started a new batch of rice from scratch, and cooked it about 20 minutes on med-low. Rice was still chewy and a bit hard when I added the leftover milk mixture (including the already-added eggs). I then cooked this on a slow simmer, med-low for about 25 more minutes. It was definitely worth the wait, delicious, perfect consistency. To the original recipe, I also added yellow of one lemon and about 1 T vanilla. Next time, I'd begin with cooking the rice in water until it evaporates and then try the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Absolutely delicious - sweet and creamy the way rice pudding should be. Was a bit hesitant about adding egg but made it per the recipe and it was wonderful. Will be making again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This came out great. The Portuguese way, just the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
We ran out of milk, so quite a few changes were made; we used equal parts soy milk and rum to make up the difference in liquid so the rice could cook. It was absolutely delicious. I also added an old banana, a crumbled up old bun, a handful of raisins and some generous dashes of cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. So what really happened was this hybrid rice-bread pudding, and everybody loved it. Thanks for the great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Fast and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I gave it a 5 star because it tasted wonderful. However, my rice was not cooked all the way. I cooked it for almost 2 hours. I don't know what I did wrong. Any suggestions on how to get the rice done a little more? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was awesome! I added a little vanilla and ate it warm with whipped cream! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Great Recipe! I did add some lemon skin (just the yellow part, no white) and left it there while it cooked just for lemon note! Fantastic!!! Will be doing this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Tastes just like the arroz doce I ate in Portugal. I get to relive that time through this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States