Portuguese Sweet Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I've made this recipe many times and always get compliments on it. I sometimes add a bit of vanilla too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
My mom use to make this but she never added vanilla. if you add lemon peels, it takes away the strong taste of the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOTTSBELA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
If you like rice pudding, this is the stuff you want! As you can see in my photo, I served it to company with strawberry and kiwi slices, garnished with mint. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was delicious! I followed the submitter's suggestion for thicker pudding so I used 3 eggs and 1 1/4 c rice. I was a little nervous that it still wasn't going to be thick or cook enough but the last 10-15 minutes it thickens quite a bit. Plus the egg thickens it as well. I added vanilla and sprinkled cinnamon on top when served. Mmm mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
My mom always added lemon rind to her arroz doce so I added the rind from one lemon to this recipe. Cut, not grated. Remove the rind before placing the rice into the serving dishes. Bellisimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
My va-vo used to make this classic dish almost the same way! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: East Bay, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Very good my grandma use to make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
great option for me to use up some remaining sweet rice. the egg flavor was a little noticeable so i think next time i'll try adding a tiny bit of vanilla. also, i made the whole recipe for myself, so i have some cold pudding to deal with...will try to nuke it but i'm not sure if the egg will cook or not...but i ate a bowlful of this for dessert last nite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I added a lemon peel just like mom used to and sprinkle of cinnamon on top too!! All the memories...ty for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I gave it a 5 star because it tasted wonderful. However, my rice was not cooked all the way. I cooked it for almost 2 hours. I don't know what I did wrong. Any suggestions on how to get the rice done a little more? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States