Portuguese Sweet Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This is a very good sweet bread! Contrary to the earlier reviewers' negative comments, I think this type of sweetbread is supposed to be rather dense, which is exactly the appeal. If you bake all 6 at the same time, however, increase bake time to 45-50 minutes at sea level, and rotate the pans between shelves halfway through to avoid burning the inside crust. Also, while I, too, found that the dough didn't rise nearly as much as expected, it did rise to a perfect level during baking. Hang with this recipe and you'll get a perfectly delicious sweet bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
There must be amisprint on this recipe, it never stiffened up, I could have poured it into the pans. I have made this before so I know what to expect and this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I have been making Portuguese sweet bread for 30 years and was looking for a recepie that was less dense. This one got a 5 for flavor and texture but a 3 for instructions. It took far longer to rise and cook than indicated. The full recipe is not for whimps...it is a LOT of dough to handle. I put some in mini loaf pans to give away...big hit! This will be my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Don't complain. Look at the recipe -- sugar and eggs at that amount slow down the rise time. You can either let it rise longer or add a tbsp of yeast to the ingredients. You'll have a lighter loaf. Otherwise, if you like denser, give it some time to rise. Overall, excellent recipe for such a very sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanee Van Ee-Mortensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
excellent !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I LOVED THIS! I made this bread for my high school grad party, and this was the main attraction!! This recipe made 6 loaves, and in less than 24 hours, all the loaves were gone. I read that people who reviewed had trouble getting the dough to rise, so I decided to add one extra package of yeast. The results were wonderful! This is an easy recipe and great for parties. I HIGHLY recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeddiBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I don't know if yeast I used was just bad, but I made this recipe for Easter, and the dough never rose. The bread ended up being more like a loaf cake or a spice cake/bread consistancy. I wouldn't recommend using this recipe if you want a fluffy sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Had trouble getting to rise the first time. Used Rapid rise the second time and it worked wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tumble4me

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very good! I scaled down the recipe to make about 20 rolls and added the grated zest of half an orange. I used less sugar to my own personal taste. Will make this recipe again! Thank you, John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Thank you for this recipe. I lived in the azores on Terciera and fell in love with portugese sweet bread. I am so pleased with this recipe. Thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States