Portuguese Sweet Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This recipe was alright but I'm still looking for a recipe that has a true sweetbread flavor. This recipe seems like it doesn't have enough sugar in it...? It has no vanilla or lemon flavoring and doesn't result in a fluffy, full loaf as I expected it would. Perhaps it could be tweaked to become what I expected but I would like to come by a true, old world sweetbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makingitcount

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Anxious to try! Fond memories of my G-Grandmother (sao Miguel,Azores-Hawaii-USA) making this bread. She would place the huge bowl of dough on the dryer to rise & the aroma would be throughout the house even b4 baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
this bread was awesome, i did have some problems but had i went through some reviews before hand i think i would have figured out why, 1. it didn't rise, being that theres so much sugar and eggs i should have added a lil more yeast or let it sit longer. overall i'm not taking it to Thanksgiving dinner since MINE did not rise, but hey it makes a great breakfast bread with sausage and egg... i will be trying this again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
The bread was undercooked in the middle. The flavor was fantastic, however. Still managed to goble it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I have made 2 half recipes of this & neither have risen at all until in the oven. The flavor is great & the texture is not bad, but it does not rise at all for me, even when sitting for up to 8 hours before I give up, make it into rolls & bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very good! I scaled down the recipe to make about 20 rolls and added the grated zest of half an orange. I used less sugar to my own personal taste. Will make this recipe again! Thank you, John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Thank you for this recipe. I lived in the azores on Terciera and fell in love with portugese sweet bread. I am so pleased with this recipe. Thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Had trouble getting to rise the first time. Used Rapid rise the second time and it worked wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tumble4me

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I have been making Portuguese sweet bread for 30 years and was looking for a recepie that was less dense. This one got a 5 for flavor and texture but a 3 for instructions. It took far longer to rise and cook than indicated. The full recipe is not for whimps...it is a LOT of dough to handle. I put some in mini loaf pans to give away...big hit! This will be my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I LOVED THIS! I made this bread for my high school grad party, and this was the main attraction!! This recipe made 6 loaves, and in less than 24 hours, all the loaves were gone. I read that people who reviewed had trouble getting the dough to rise, so I decided to add one extra package of yeast. The results were wonderful! This is an easy recipe and great for parties. I HIGHLY recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeddiBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States