Portuguese Sweet Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I love it! Even using an off brand, self-rise flour, (and oh yes, I can tell the difference when it comes to breads) it turned out wonderfully. Even my picky 5 year old ate two slices by itself. Thank you so very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patriot, Ohio, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I've tried this a couple of times. I lave the bread but it rises like crazy and then collapses in the middle. Is it me? My cheapo bread machine? Or is there a real reason? Please help. I'm new to this and my wife is laughing at me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I tried this recipe today. It came out perfect. It tastes wonderful. Definitely doing this one agajn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Our exchange student from Brazil very much appreciated this bread. Said it matched her mothers. What a complimant ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I disliked the lemon taste. Was dissapointing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
The bread turns out to be really creamy and yummy. During the first kneading cycle, the dough appeared to be a little wet, so I added about another tablespoon of flour during the second kneading cycle. The bread is not very sweet, you can for sure add another 1/4 cup of sugar to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bleuettr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Wowww So good! I did what another person wrote, and buttered and fried left over bread... I have never had anything like it, It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was a nice bread with a nice flavor, but, it is not the Portuguese Sweet Bread I was raised with. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Barreto

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
GREAT BREAD.FIRST LOAF I MADE ,TURNED OUT EXACTLY AS PROMISED. NICE TEXTURE AND GREAT TASTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This may be a sweet bread made by someone who is Portuguese but it is not the yellow egg bread which is what real Portuguese Sweet Bread is and has always been about; whether bought at the festivals or what my Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLorDaGama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States