Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2000
This recipe is closest to the real Portuguese sweet bread you buy in Rhode Island. My husband is a full blooded Portuguese and loves this. He says it reminds him of home. This is great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2000
We used to only have this bread at Christmas and Thanksgiving because it was so hard to make by hand. The hand-made bread is still admittedly better, still special, but this is a good version for regular use. I like my bread to be a little sweeter so I add about six packets of aspartame (Sweet 'N Low) to the recipe. (I know that might sound funny, but our family recipe calls for aspartame, and if you just add more sugar, the bread crust becomes really dark.) Don't use Nutrasweet; Nutrasweet doesn't hold up under high temperatures and therefore is not useful for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
The taste of the bread was great-but-the top of the bread was not done baking when the sweetbread cycle was over. I made it twice and it happened both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2000
This was a Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
This is delicious and has a wonderful texture. My bread machine doesn't have a sweet bread setting, so I used the basic setting/light crust and it came out great. It rises very high, so you may have to prick the top during the last rise to keep it from overflowing. I'm DEFINITELY adding this to my repertoire. Thank you for sharing this Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
This bread was so warm and wonderful. I couldn't stop eating it! It's my favorite bread machine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
Wonderful bread! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
Fantastic!!!!!!!! Love this Bread!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2000
My sweet bread just came out of the machine...beautiful. It rose so high I measured it...6",WOW! It is really good to, I'm on my second slice. If your reading this go make it right now and in three hours you'll be enjoying it too ! Thanks for the recipe Jennifer !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGORDON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
I tried this recipe twice and both times it overflowed in the bread machine and burnt. Anyone else have this problem? I even punched it down on the rise cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States