Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Turned out great even though my older bread machine stopped because of a tripped GFC after about 20 minutes into the cycle and I had to restart from the beginning. Subbed salted butter for the margarine but used same amount of salt as called for in the recipe. Used skim milk since that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Excellent! I was curious if the milk should be heated but I just added it cold and it turned out wonderful! Great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I added some cinnamon to compliment the pumpkin butter I was serving it with. A great light sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I am from Brazil and my Grandmother used to make this bread, I did this one and it is delicious. Good memories...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
WoW!! WoW!! WoW!! Absolutely loved this bread! It will be a staple at our house!! Perfect compliment to any meal or could be a stand alone morsel with jam, or just sliced and buttered straight out of the bread machine as we just had!! GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I make this as sweet rolls. I roll the bread out and fill with the following mix: I mix ½ stick butter with ¼ cup cinnamon and ½ cup sugar for the filling. Then I roll it up into a log, slice, and put in muffin cups. While these are cooking, I take 1c raisins and 1/8c merlot (have also had success with RC cola as a wine sub) and heat for 5 min on stovetop - just enough to hydrate the raisins. I use this raisin sauce ontopof the rolls instead of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Really good recipe on it's own. I take the sugar to 1/2 cup, though. For the world's best French toast, I add 2 tsp. of cinnamon, slice into thick slices and dry on the countertop overnight. I pop the extra slices in the freezer to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was the very first loaf of bread I've ever made and it turned out fantastic! I've had homemade bread before that gets really crumbly and it's hard to do much with, but this has the perfect consistency. It was so easy to make that I may not even buy bread from the grocery store anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is easily my favorite sweet bread recipe. I made a couple of adjustments/additions and it turned out very well. I added an extra tablespoon of milk and I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar. I also added 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts. I made the dough in my machine, then baked it in the oven for 45 minutes at 300 degrees. I made french toast with this bread and it is simply amazing - topped it with butter and powdered sugar. I had never had french toast with nuts before and this was superb! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States