Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by harlgr8dane
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very good. I read many of the previous reviews and added a 2nd yolk and increased the sugar to 1/2 cup and also added 1 tsp of honey. I wanted the bread to be sweet. I made the dough using the bread maker using manual cycle. I removed the dough - its sticky - flour your hands - shaped it into a greased/lightly floured stone round pan, and allowed the dough to rise a second time for 30 additional minutes. I baked it at 350 for 25minutes, it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harlgr8dane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I am not sure what I did, but I followed the recipe exactly. It is a very heavy loaf. The recipe was easy to follow however, did not come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I really enjoyed this bread while it was baking. The smell was absolutely lovely. I did add a tsp of vanilla, because I do that with most all my breads. It did sink a bit in the middle, but not too bad. That is why I only gave it four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This recipe was delicious, I served it with Baked Onion Dip I by BOBNOREEN everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Fantastic! I am a potter and just made my first bread baking bowl, so I searched AR for a simple loaf to try. Following the prior reviews I made this loaf in my kitchen aid then transferred to my bowl for both rises and baking (25min in preheated 350deg oven). This bread came out perfect and I will be making many more times! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Followed recipe, very good the entire family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This recipe is AMAZING. My bread machine broke, so I did this by hand. Same ingredients but I added an extra egg white. I heated the milk on the stove and mixed everything together. This dough is VERY sticky, I floured my hands, and it was still sticky. I put it in a lightly floured loaf pan at 375 for 30 minutes (or until hollow tapping with fingers on top) Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I only added a tablespoon of honey to add an extra touch of sweetness to this recipe. I let the bread machine do it all, and it was delicious. Perfect for spreading with honey butter. The texture probably would've been even better if I'd taken it out of the bread machine and baked it in the oven--but I wanted to see how it turned out in the bread machine first. It was still excellent in the bread machine. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I flavored this with orange extract, raisins, and cardamom. Delicious. It does raise a lot, so the top was a bit undercooked, but that's what toasters are for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I made this recipe two days in a row... first time I accidentally omitted the butter/margarine... my family still asked to keep the left overs... it was amazingly good... My only suggestion is that I would use 3 1/4 cups of bread floor right from the start if I was not going to be available to add a bit of flour after I started the machine. If you like sweet bread - this is the one for you. Beautiful color, texture, and just a hit of sweetness. I also use the low crust setting on most breads that I make. Seems to not only make for a more tender crust but a moisture loaf of bread. Thanks for sharing this recipe... who new!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 61-70 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States