Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Tastes just like Costco Rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This bread was superb. I used half evaporated milk and half two percent, then about 1/3 C extra sugar. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I have used this recipe many times , and it has turned out great every time. I even used non-fat dry milk when I was out of whole milk, and it was great. I even made cinnamon rolls and my grandson said they were bomb. lol, whatever that means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
SO yummy! Turns out perfectly. I make my dough in the bread machine, but then bake it in the oven. I form it into a loaf, let rise for an hour, brush with egg, and then bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes. Probably the best bread I've made so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made some nice cinnamon rolls. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Since I don't have a bread machine, I relied on the tips/methods of others here and did the following: I combined the warmed milk with the sugar, 2 Tbs. honey and the yeast and let it foam. I then added this mixture to the rest of the ingredients in my KitchenAid mixer and stirred for 3 minutes with the dough hook attachement. I then kneaded it on medium speed (2) for about 8 minutes. I transferred the dough to a lightly-oiled bowl, covered and let rise for 2 hours. Punched the dough down and let it rise for another hour. Baked the bread in a greased 9" x 5" loaf pan for just about 30 minutes at 375 degrees. I found the bread very tasty, with just the right sweetness (witht the addition of the honey), but just a tad dense in texture. I may try making this bread again, but will free form it rather than making it in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Soft texture and good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This recipe made a delicious & finely textured loaf that had just a hint of sweetness. Excellent for french toast, sandwiches and, of course, fresh and warm w/ butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Fantastic, I'm making this bread now almost every day for the girls, and have stopped buying bread. They all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
soft and fluffly :) love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States