Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I only added a tablespoon of honey to add an extra touch of sweetness to this recipe. I let the bread machine do it all, and it was delicious. Perfect for spreading with honey butter. The texture probably would've been even better if I'd taken it out of the bread machine and baked it in the oven--but I wanted to see how it turned out in the bread machine first. It was still excellent in the bread machine. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I flavored this with orange extract, raisins, and cardamom. Delicious. It does raise a lot, so the top was a bit undercooked, but that's what toasters are for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I made this recipe two days in a row... first time I accidentally omitted the butter/margarine... my family still asked to keep the left overs... it was amazingly good... My only suggestion is that I would use 3 1/4 cups of bread floor right from the start if I was not going to be available to add a bit of flour after I started the machine. If you like sweet bread - this is the one for you. Beautiful color, texture, and just a hit of sweetness. I also use the low crust setting on most breads that I make. Seems to not only make for a more tender crust but a moisture loaf of bread. Thanks for sharing this recipe... who new!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was pretty good fresh. Was a little dry the day after. I did not use a bread machine. I proofed the yeast in my kitchenaid mixer, and mixed/kneaded in that... then put in warm oven for 1 hr to rise, then put it in a loaf pan, let it rise for another 30 mins, baked at 325 for 35 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Followed directions exactly. Good flavor but a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This recipe is awesome and is the only one everyone in my family of 9 asked for me to do over and over again. Looove it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This bread is excellent. As with a lot of other reviewers here, I baked my bread in the oven instead of a bread machine. It's great as a single loaf, or split into rolls. Toast this bread if you know what's good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This is the best bread I have ever made. I am making some for Christmas presents, and giving electric knives to cut it. Thank you for the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious! I made in bread machine using dough cycle then baked in the oven so there wouldn't be a hole from the paddle. The whole family loves it! Will be making it to give as Christmas gifts with homemade jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Springs, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Fantastic never fail bread. Its absolutely perfect everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States