Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I have made this bread several times, both in the bread machine and in the oven. When I have time, I prefer baking it in the oven as I can control the outcome of the crust easily. I followed one recommendation from a reviewer to add an extra egg yolk. The bread comes out a bit fluffier and less dense, which is how we like our bread. This is definitely a staple in our home. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Everyone in our family loves this bread! My very picky teen daughter loves pricey Hawaiian sweet rolls and hates all other breads. She happily uses slices of this bread for everything from deli sandwiches to chunks dipped in soup to grilled cheese to homemade pizza broiled in the oven. It's her go to bread for all things these days. I would rather she eat a wheat or whole grain bread but I will certainly allow her to use this bread in place of store bought bread with 25 ingredients. I wondered about the temperature of the butter since it's not specified so I just use room temperature butter to ensure even distribution. And yes I use butter, no margarine for this family. It makes a large, perfectly sized loaf in my Oster bread maker. Thank you for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made this recipe 3 days ago and it has been the best recipe I have used so far. The taste is really good and everyone loved it. I did have the problem of it raising very high, it didn't overflow but touched the glass top panel and got stuck. It was all good though it made for a very large yummy loaf of bread. Thanks. Only thing I did different is activate the yeast in a little water before putting it all in the machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hahni Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I used honey in place of the sugar and it was excellent! Absolutely perfect sweet bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
OMG I made this last night. I opted to put my bread machine on the dough cycle after I reading a few comments about it rising too much; I didn't want to take the risk. Plus, the bread machine loaf has an awkward shape to it that I don't fancy. The only thing I did was increase the sugar to 1/2 cup but honest the recipe is perfect as is. I am a bread-lover and this recipe totally brings me back to the way we make it in the islands. THANK YOU JENNIFER. This one is a keeper! I'm going to add cinnamon and raisins next time and make rolls. I'm so excited about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tingz Nice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This bread is delicious! My husband just likes it sweeter so I put 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 1/3 and I use the dough cycle and then make rolls in the oven. I was able to get 10 good sized dinner rolls after letting it rise for about 40 minutes after the dough cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Added 1 T. honey. This bread is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I just had a few slices toasted with butter, and it's delicious! I preferred to bake it in a 9x5 loaf pan in the oven. So after going through the Dough cycle in the bread machine, I removed the dough, kneaded a few strokes then transferred to the prepared pan. I then covered it and let it rise (it rose nicely) in a warmed oven for about an hour. I then baked it at 350 for ~20 min. (Thanks to other reviewers for info on this method.) I usually cut back on sugar on anything I make, but here, I think I'd prefer a bit MORE sugar. Thanks Jennifer for the easy and very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Instead of butter, I used unsweetened applesauce in a 1 : 1 ratio. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
was looking for something simple without 20 ingredients, and this fit the bill. I could not believe how this came out, it was perfect.I used buttermilk instead of milk, but that was the only exception.Better than the box mix, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gary harrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States