Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Very good. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Avalon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Theres probably a trick to it. I guess punching it down. But this was my first time with this bread machine and Ididnt know it didnt do that. Bread rose waaaaaay too much and the top came out uncooked. But the stuff that cooked was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I think it tastes just like that Hawaiian bread from the market. Portuguese? Hawaiian? Who cares??? It's delicious!! Absolutely yummy!! It'd make a great hawaiian grilled cheese... mmm, think I'm getting an idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Best bread I have ever made! My daughter said it tasted like the Hawaiian Sweet Rolls we buy at the store, which both my kids like - I am definitely substituting this bread for the store-bought, preservatives-added rolls. It did overflow a bit, so I need to make a half-batch from now on, but it is so easy to make! Can't wait to try out the Portuguese Sweet Bread II!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
The best sweet bread recipe I've ever used! My family devours this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Wilhelm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I don't have a bread maker, so I used my small oven. I also subbed soy milk and only 1/4th sugar. Surprisingly it wasn't too bad. I "baked" it for 1hr 30 on 160ish. However, I suggest much lower temp (140 maybe) for an hour. It's a bit crunchy on the edges but I think it'll make really good garlic bread. The taste is strangely addicting, even the burnt parts... Oh, I also let it rise for a few hours before baking it. Not sure if I should have done that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Hancock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This was soooo good. I used brown sugar instead of white though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Just delicious! I just discovered our bread machine; we've had it for years after it was given to us but had never used it. This was the first thing I made in it. How could something so easy be so delicious?? For those who claim it overflowed in the machine, it's made for a 1.5-pound loaf machine. I used 1% milk and it was perfect. Will probably use the light seeing on my machine next time, just because I don't like a dark crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Very good/easy recipe for a novice baker like me. I did proof the yeast first (learned from reading all the user feedback), as I was using active dry and not bread machine yeast, and used the dough setting since the shape of the bread baked in my machine is too awkward for toasters. This recipe turns out a fluffy sweet bread, we could barely keep ourselves from gobbling up the warm bread out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Will make on dough setting then bake in oven, bread maker was too hot and over cooked outside. Otherwise family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States