Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This bread is delicious! My husband just likes it sweeter so I put 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 1/3 and I use the dough cycle and then make rolls in the oven. I was able to get 10 good sized dinner rolls after letting it rise for about 40 minutes after the dough cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Added 1 T. honey. This bread is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I just had a few slices toasted with butter, and it's delicious! I preferred to bake it in a 9x5 loaf pan in the oven. So after going through the Dough cycle in the bread machine, I removed the dough, kneaded a few strokes then transferred to the prepared pan. I then covered it and let it rise (it rose nicely) in a warmed oven for about an hour. I then baked it at 350 for ~20 min. (Thanks to other reviewers for info on this method.) I usually cut back on sugar on anything I make, but here, I think I'd prefer a bit MORE sugar. Thanks Jennifer for the easy and very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Instead of butter, I used unsweetened applesauce in a 1 : 1 ratio. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
was looking for something simple without 20 ingredients, and this fit the bill. I could not believe how this came out, it was perfect.I used buttermilk instead of milk, but that was the only exception.Better than the box mix, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gary harrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Very good. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Avalon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Theres probably a trick to it. I guess punching it down. But this was my first time with this bread machine and Ididnt know it didnt do that. Bread rose waaaaaay too much and the top came out uncooked. But the stuff that cooked was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I think it tastes just like that Hawaiian bread from the market. Portuguese? Hawaiian? Who cares??? It's delicious!! Absolutely yummy!! It'd make a great hawaiian grilled cheese... mmm, think I'm getting an idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Best bread I have ever made! My daughter said it tasted like the Hawaiian Sweet Rolls we buy at the store, which both my kids like - I am definitely substituting this bread for the store-bought, preservatives-added rolls. It did overflow a bit, so I need to make a half-batch from now on, but it is so easy to make! Can't wait to try out the Portuguese Sweet Bread II!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
The best sweet bread recipe I've ever used! My family devours this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Wilhelm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States