Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Great bread machine recipe.Great texture,soft & yummy.The only thing that I would change would be to up the sugar to 1/2 cup.I may also experiment with taking the loaf out a few minutes early.Sweet breads tend to brown quickly in bread machines.Will certainly make again & again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren's mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This bread did not turn out at all , followed all directions .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
YUM! Made this last night and am making another batch this morning. I am going to make it just a bit sweeter, roll in smaller round balls, fry and then roll in powdered sugar. Oh yes, this will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Awesome! Best bread out of a machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Love this bread!! I have made it several times. It is great to slice and freeze. Pull out slices from the freezer for toast in the morning. Thaws in a couple of minutes. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was just ok to me. It didn't wow or disgust me! The only change I made was subbing veggie shortening for the margarine, as I had no margarine on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I am clearing out my cookbook/recipe shelf, and want to add my notes...I can't remember how this tasted, but I made a note that it was too much dough for our bread machine (standard size).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELTTEACH

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is the first bread I made in my bread machine, and it was a hit! The whole loaf was devoured in a day, and I've been getting requests for more of it. I increased the sugar to just shy of 1/2 cup, and it was perfect. Just sweet enough, and all you need is butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JadeBlue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was delicious! My husband loved it! He said that its his favorite bread I've made so far in our bread machine. UPDATE: To date, this is the only bread my husband wants me to make now. We both LOVE it soooooo much! It reminds me of little sweet rolls that one of my aunts used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmealo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This recipe IS awesome! The flavor is just what I was looking for. I wanted a rich sweet bread to use as a base for a cinnamon swirl raisin bread. This is the one I'll use from now on! I had problems, but it is definitely NOT the recipe -- it's my breadmaker. I've made some great breads over the years by hand. Since I got this bread machine every one of the breads I've tried have not risen as they should. I've tried focaccia, pizza dough, pita, white & wheat breads, and have been disappointed. It's always the same thing -- the rising. I have not tried doing a bread entirely in it because I like to shape doughs as I wish, depending on what I'm making. I've tried different forms of yeast to no avail. I will make this bread again, by hand, but it is's in the 90's here & too hot to heat up the kitchen. Before rating a recipe please be sure your complaints are actually due to the recipe and instructions, and not due to human or mechanical error!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States