Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Great tasting bread and texture. I don't use a bread machine since I don't think the texture comes out as nice as oven baking. For people without machines, this recipe couldn't be simpler. Warm the milk and add the sugar and the yeast. Stir and let sit for about 15 min. to proof (the yeast will foam). If it doesn't foam, your milk probably wasn't warm enough. Then add the foamy yeast mixture to the rest of the ingredients and mix. This dough is easy to mix by hand so you really don't need the KitchenAid. The dough will be sticky. So after mixing, cover and let it sit in the bowl to rise 1-2 hours. Punch down and let rise again or form into rolls at this time. Super quick and easy. If you want a sweeter, richer bread, increase sugar to 1/2 cup and add one extra egg yolk. If makikng one large loaf, bake for about 30-35 min. at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
772 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I have made this with skim milk, whole milk, and half and half, it comes out tasty every time. I tried egg nog once and it was disgusting. I use butter instead of margarine. The first few hundred loaves I made I used Red Star bread machine yeast and the results were better than with regular yeast. The difference is a bigger fluffier loaf of bread. I used Mediterrainian sea salt a few times but it seemed to make no difference. I have made this with cold egg and milk and it comes out the same as having the ingredients at room temperature. The loaf comes out big and my biggest problem was storage of a gargantuan loaf of bread. A couple of things worked out. First, you can slice it up and put it in a couple of zip lock bags. Second, you can store it in a Renolyd's oven cooking bag. This bread makes excellent toast(oh,yes), French toast, stuffing, sandwiches, and bread crumbs. It has a sweet flavor. It is addicting, so be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This bread is awesome. I'm kind of picky, I hate the way bread machine bread comes out. So I add the ingredients and set it to the dough cycle. Then I put the dough in my loaf pan and bake at 350° for 20 minutes, turning half way through. It comes out absolutely gorgeous. It is wonderful toasted. My boyfriend loves it. I no longer buy loaves of bread from the store, I simply bake this bread on the weekends. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Our entire family has been loving this bread! Not too sweet, with a nice medium/light crumb - simple recipe just as it is! I just use my kitchenaid mixer, let it rise 1 hr., punch it down & shape it, let it rise again 15 min. and bake! (rolls are my favorite) Dough freezes superbly after 2nd rise, then pull them out anytime for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
If you REALLY want to taste sweetbread at it's absolute best, try buttering one side of a nice thick slice and grilling it in the frying pan. Tastes just like danish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Absolutely the BEST bread ever out of a bread machine. I did not alter the recipe whatsoever...and it turned out perfect. It's the first bread I've ever made that actually has a "yeast" smell, as well as the taste. Please share any other recipes of this nature! Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Excellent bread!! I live at a high altitude (6,000 ft.) and have trouble getting bread to rise properly, but this one was easy with a few adjustments and turned out beautifully! It rose to perfection, had a golden crust, and just the right texture, and was oh so tasty! I added 1 TBS of milk, decreased sugar by 1 tsp. and yeast by 1/2 tsp. and added a pinch of salt. Try this one, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Wonderful bread and so easy. I tried it buttered and cooked in a fry pan as another reviewer suggested. Then I drizzled honey on it and it was simply incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
No bread machine, just used my Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast with the sugar and warm milk in the mixer bowl for ten minutes, added the egg and melted butter, then all the dry ingredients. This dough needed another half cup of flour, I just added it by leveled 1/4 cup until it formed into a ball and jumped on the bread hook. I kneaded it with the hook for about five minutes, then formed it into a ball and let it rise on my warm oven in a greased bowl, covered. Once it doubled, I thought I'd be creative and make a Cinnamon Swirl bread. I rolled it out into a long rectangle, then sprinkled brown sugar, nutmeg and cinnamon over the dough, then rolled it up. I made sure the edges were sealed and set it to rise on the warm oven in the loaf pan for another hour or so. I baked this for about a half hour or so in 350* oven, or until it smelled done. After that, I set out to make a batch just as recipe stated. Either way, it's a wonderful bread with just a touch of sweetness and richness. Very soft, close to a bakery bread in texture. Amazing bread. This one's a keeper, no matter which way I choose to use it. THREE DAYS LATER: I've now made this bread six times and we just can't get enough, either in cinnamon-swirl form or regular. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
Best bread recipe I've tried so far. Very tasty and easy to make. My girls just love it, they ask for it several times a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States