Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I've tried making this bread 3 times and it has yet to turn out great. 3 times is enough. I've found other bread recipes on this site that come out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Just as I remember my "Avo" making every week! I used my very old breadmaker on manual and brushed the top with egg white; included the extra yolk into dough. It rose, baked and tasted absolutely wonderful! Family enjoyed it so much. Will bake again and double the reciped. Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This bread was so delicious - It does not last long in my house! I made the dough for this in my bread machine, but baked it in the oven because I don't like the shape of the bread machine pan. I increased the sugar to 1/2 cup, but otherwise followed the directions - using the "dough" setting on my machine. Once it finished rising in the machine, I took it out, kneaded it a few times, shaped it, put it in a greased 9 inch cake pan, covered it, then set it to rise for 1 hour. Once risen, I baked the bread at 375 for about 25 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WasntMeSB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Bread came out perfect! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Love it! This is going to become a staple in my house. Very close to the Portuguese sweet bread I grew up eating, and so delicious warm out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe, followed it to the T and it came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
MommyfromSeattle was right. This recipe is great. I followed the recipe almost to a t except I don't have a bread machine (or a sweet bread setting). I did add yeast and sugar with milk and let it sit. Yeast usually has to be added around 110 or 115 degree, so I warmed the milk to that temp. If u add it at a higher it'll kill the yeast. I then added he rest of the ingredients and let it sit for 2 hours. I also let it sit for another 20 minutes before baking it in the oven at 365. The bread is really not that sweet so add some honey and sugar if you desire a sweeter bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
My kids loved it thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great bread! You can even add some cinnamon and raisins, or blueberries for a yummy, sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Wow! This loaf came out looking beautiful! Plus, it tasted amazing! Perfect texture and flavor. The best bread I've made in my machine! (And it actually tastes like my Gram's Portuguese bread recipe!) Definitely a keeper! (note: I used 2 yolks instead of 1 egg and ran out of bread flour so used some all purpose.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States