Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I made this recipe two days in a row... first time I accidentally omitted the butter/margarine... my family still asked to keep the left overs... it was amazingly good... My only suggestion is that I would use 3 1/4 cups of bread floor right from the start if I was not going to be available to add a bit of flour after I started the machine. If you like sweet bread - this is the one for you. Beautiful color, texture, and just a hit of sweetness. I also use the low crust setting on most breads that I make. Seems to not only make for a more tender crust but a moisture loaf of bread. Thanks for sharing this recipe... who new!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was pretty good fresh. Was a little dry the day after. I did not use a bread machine. I proofed the yeast in my kitchenaid mixer, and mixed/kneaded in that... then put in warm oven for 1 hr to rise, then put it in a loaf pan, let it rise for another 30 mins, baked at 325 for 35 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Followed directions exactly. Good flavor but a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This recipe is awesome and is the only one everyone in my family of 9 asked for me to do over and over again. Looove it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashika Zunun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This bread is excellent. As with a lot of other reviewers here, I baked my bread in the oven instead of a bread machine. It's great as a single loaf, or split into rolls. Toast this bread if you know what's good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Hofer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This is the best bread I have ever made. I am making some for Christmas presents, and giving electric knives to cut it. Thank you for the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Gouvan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious! I made in bread machine using dough cycle then baked in the oven so there wouldn't be a hole from the paddle. The whole family loves it! Will be making it to give as Christmas gifts with homemade jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Springs, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Fantastic never fail bread. Its absolutely perfect everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I LOVE this bread! I can't even begin to describe the flavor of it. Its so delicious. Everyone that I give it to raves about it. Such an easy recipe. I've made it several times. Sometimes I have to add extra flour depending on the weather and the brand of flour I'm using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
My Portuguese husband says it reminds him of his youth, torn up in a bowl and pour milk over for a breakfast or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lamar, Colorado, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States