Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Tastes just like Costco Rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This bread was superb. I used half evaporated milk and half two percent, then about 1/3 C extra sugar. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I have used this recipe many times , and it has turned out great every time. I even used non-fat dry milk when I was out of whole milk, and it was great. I even made cinnamon rolls and my grandson said they were bomb. lol, whatever that means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
SO yummy! Turns out perfectly. I make my dough in the bread machine, but then bake it in the oven. I form it into a loaf, let rise for an hour, brush with egg, and then bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes. Probably the best bread I've made so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made some nice cinnamon rolls. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Since I don't have a bread machine, I relied on the tips/methods of others here and did the following: I combined the warmed milk with the sugar, 2 Tbs. honey and the yeast and let it foam. I then added this mixture to the rest of the ingredients in my KitchenAid mixer and stirred for 3 minutes with the dough hook attachement. I then kneaded it on medium speed (2) for about 8 minutes. I transferred the dough to a lightly-oiled bowl, covered and let rise for 2 hours. Punched the dough down and let it rise for another hour. Baked the bread in a greased 9" x 5" loaf pan for just about 30 minutes at 375 degrees. I found the bread very tasty, with just the right sweetness (witht the addition of the honey), but just a tad dense in texture. I may try making this bread again, but will free form it rather than making it in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Soft texture and good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This recipe made a delicious & finely textured loaf that had just a hint of sweetness. Excellent for french toast, sandwiches and, of course, fresh and warm w/ butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Fantastic, I'm making this bread now almost every day for the girls, and have stopped buying bread. They all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
soft and fluffly :) love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States