Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Very good/easy recipe for a novice baker like me. I did proof the yeast first (learned from reading all the user feedback), as I was using active dry and not bread machine yeast, and used the dough setting since the shape of the bread baked in my machine is too awkward for toasters. This recipe turns out a fluffy sweet bread, we could barely keep ourselves from gobbling up the warm bread out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Will make on dough setting then bake in oven, bread maker was too hot and over cooked outside. Otherwise family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Came out perfectly the first time I made it and it was gobbled up. Wouldn't change a thing! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
First time making bread and it came out good. Everyone loved it. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Made this 3 times in 24 hours! Used all bread flour, and half bread/half ap... the last batch was a bit late, so I put it in the fridge for a slow rise... I think it came out even better - softer and more moist! My new go-to recipe for my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Easy was looking for a Hawaiin sweet bread type recipe and this is it! Added 1/4 cup macadamia nuts Took out 2 T flour added 2 T gluten flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Way too dense and yeasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I love making bread in my bread machine, and this bread came out just about as perfect as a bread machine loaf can get. I followed the instructions exactly as printed using the 1.5 pound loaf setting because the directions didn't specify, and typically breads using three cups of flour are 1.5 pounds. It filled the entire bread pan without overflowing. My whole family LOVED it, thought it was the best loaf they ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This bread is awesome. It's got a rustic texture and tastes a bit like Golden Coral's rolls. I'm making on the average two loaves a week. Slice it thick, put it in the toaster and put a little butter on it...awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Best recipe yet for my new bread machine. Second time I made it, substituted 1/2 the bread flour with whole wheat flour and was just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States