Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I make this as sweet rolls. I roll the bread out and fill with the following mix: I mix ½ stick butter with ¼ cup cinnamon and ½ cup sugar for the filling. Then I roll it up into a log, slice, and put in muffin cups. While these are cooking, I take 1c raisins and 1/8c merlot (have also had success with RC cola as a wine sub) and heat for 5 min on stovetop - just enough to hydrate the raisins. I use this raisin sauce ontopof the rolls instead of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Really good recipe on it's own. I take the sugar to 1/2 cup, though. For the world's best French toast, I add 2 tsp. of cinnamon, slice into thick slices and dry on the countertop overnight. I pop the extra slices in the freezer to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was the very first loaf of bread I've ever made and it turned out fantastic! I've had homemade bread before that gets really crumbly and it's hard to do much with, but this has the perfect consistency. It was so easy to make that I may not even buy bread from the grocery store anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is easily my favorite sweet bread recipe. I made a couple of adjustments/additions and it turned out very well. I added an extra tablespoon of milk and I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar. I also added 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts. I made the dough in my machine, then baked it in the oven for 45 minutes at 300 degrees. I made french toast with this bread and it is simply amazing - topped it with butter and powdered sugar. I had never had french toast with nuts before and this was superb! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I've tried making this bread 3 times and it has yet to turn out great. 3 times is enough. I've found other bread recipes on this site that come out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Just as I remember my "Avo" making every week! I used my very old breadmaker on manual and brushed the top with egg white; included the extra yolk into dough. It rose, baked and tasted absolutely wonderful! Family enjoyed it so much. Will bake again and double the reciped. Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This bread was so delicious - It does not last long in my house! I made the dough for this in my bread machine, but baked it in the oven because I don't like the shape of the bread machine pan. I increased the sugar to 1/2 cup, but otherwise followed the directions - using the "dough" setting on my machine. Once it finished rising in the machine, I took it out, kneaded it a few times, shaped it, put it in a greased 9 inch cake pan, covered it, then set it to rise for 1 hour. Once risen, I baked the bread at 375 for about 25 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WasntMeSB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Bread came out perfect! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Love it! This is going to become a staple in my house. Very close to the Portuguese sweet bread I grew up eating, and so delicious warm out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States