Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
The best sweet bread recipe I've ever used! My family devours this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Wilhelm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I don't have a bread maker, so I used my small oven. I also subbed soy milk and only 1/4th sugar. Surprisingly it wasn't too bad. I "baked" it for 1hr 30 on 160ish. However, I suggest much lower temp (140 maybe) for an hour. It's a bit crunchy on the edges but I think it'll make really good garlic bread. The taste is strangely addicting, even the burnt parts... Oh, I also let it rise for a few hours before baking it. Not sure if I should have done that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Hancock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This was soooo good. I used brown sugar instead of white though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Just delicious! I just discovered our bread machine; we've had it for years after it was given to us but had never used it. This was the first thing I made in it. How could something so easy be so delicious?? For those who claim it overflowed in the machine, it's made for a 1.5-pound loaf machine. I used 1% milk and it was perfect. Will probably use the light seeing on my machine next time, just because I don't like a dark crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Very good/easy recipe for a novice baker like me. I did proof the yeast first (learned from reading all the user feedback), as I was using active dry and not bread machine yeast, and used the dough setting since the shape of the bread baked in my machine is too awkward for toasters. This recipe turns out a fluffy sweet bread, we could barely keep ourselves from gobbling up the warm bread out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Will make on dough setting then bake in oven, bread maker was too hot and over cooked outside. Otherwise family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Came out perfectly the first time I made it and it was gobbled up. Wouldn't change a thing! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
First time making bread and it came out good. Everyone loved it. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Made this 3 times in 24 hours! Used all bread flour, and half bread/half ap... the last batch was a bit late, so I put it in the fridge for a slow rise... I think it came out even better - softer and more moist! My new go-to recipe for my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Easy was looking for a Hawaiin sweet bread type recipe and this is it! Added 1/4 cup macadamia nuts Took out 2 T flour added 2 T gluten flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States