Portuguese Steamed Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
added some fine chopped garlic and diced sweet potatoes... I was amazingly suprised how simple it was cooking clams for the first time and how good it turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marco Poloe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These clams are absolutely FABULOUS! I never thought I would like any clams better than traditionally steamed with wine and garlic and melted butter. But I am going to have a hard time making clams any other way than this now. I tried to follow this recipe exactly, but I only I only had 2 dozen clams, so I quartered the recipe. And I didn't have diced tomatoes so I used crushed tomatoes with basil and herbs. Also forgot to drizzle the oil on top but they didn't need it. Served with crusty bread like another reviewer suggested. PERFECT! I will make again and again exactly the same way. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The fam bam enjoyed this dish. I added a lil more water because I needed more broth. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These clams were awesome! Following the advice of other reviewers, I too add minced garlic. I also added 2 tsp pimenta moida (fermented pepper paste). Being of Portuguese decent, pimenta moida is a staple in my house. It's available in the international section of most groceries stores. Don't forget crusty bread to dip in the sauce, which I doubled for this purpose. Thanks Star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These were so tasty and delicious. These simple ingredients really turn a pot of clams into a delicious stew...the broth was amazing, provide spoons, too. I just eyeballed the ingredients and added a a cup or so extra chicken stock and a chunk of butter to the mix. Took previous reviewers advice and added some prepared minced garlic, too. Some thin sliced baguette and a glass of cold chardonney, what a fun summer meal. Loved these & hubs raved. Will definitely do again. Many thanks for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is really YUMMY! As with the Portuguese Soup, I prefer Linguisa sausage to chorizo it's a better compliment to the clams. It's also a portuguese sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
We got an unexpected gift of 2 dz littlenecks and I used this recipe to make a wonderful dinner for family and friends. I'm from RI so we have many Portuguese style dishes, but this will be my favorite. Thanks Star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Made this today! Came out so good! I followed an user's advice and added 3 tablespoons of chopped garlic and some dried parsley to 2 pounds of chorizo and 7.5 pounds of clams. I added 3 chopped peppers for extra kick and loved it. I used 2 12-ounce Sierra Nevada Pale Ale beers that gave it a more zesty kick instead of wine. Large clams were used but I made the mistake of overcooking them a bit and the meat came out a bit tough, but thats my fault. But the broth was sooooo good! I loved to get some of the clam meat or chorizo and wrap it on some toasted bread, dip it on the broth and eat. I will do this again! Easy and fast. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was fantastic and SO fast. With prep, it takes no more than 30 minutes. I did not have clams, but used 1 lb of frozen NZ Mussles (did not thaw). I also only had 12oz of Chorizo. I did not use less of the other ingredients, as I wanted lots of broth. As others suggested, I added 2 large tbsp. of chopped garlic and also some dried parsley. It was terrific and my husband gave it a huge thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seasonedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I used a few things differently but thats what makes great cooks.The clams are the important part and out here in washington state we have lots of choices for what type of clams we use.I dug these about 20 miles from my home and they were 2"/2.5" manila butter clams. I used 28 oz. san marzano tomatoes,3 garlic cloves chopped,spicy Italian sausages and garnished each serving with fresh basil.I used ingelnook chardenee because it makes good sipping while waiting for the clams to cook.I guess it really is closer to Italian steamed clams.I served it with toasted three cheese rustic bread drizzled with virgin olive oil.Got a standing ovation from everyone.I couldn't buy chorizo in the casings so chosed the italian sausage.I was told the chorizo is too greasy,anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States