Portuguese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made this recipe last night and it was amazing!! I accidentally bought white kidney beans and regular (non-smoked/non-spicy) sausage. My family loved the soup!! However, I think it would be better if next time I make sure to use red beans and either smoked or spicy sausages to give it a bit of a kick. I cut the recipe in half and it fed 4 of us, next day too! Definitely will make again!!!! Also, I think more veggies would be an added bonus! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This recipe is one that sounds so weird but is the very best!! Everyone that tries it wants seconds and the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
OH - MY - GOODNESS!!!!!!!! This soup was amazing! I threw in a bag of frozen brussels sprouts/cauliflower/carrots at the end, for a little more texture. I'd ad more next time, just cause it complimented the cabbage so well. Great way to use one of the cabbages I caught at the St. Patrick's Day parade, and different from coleslaw or cabbage salad. The ketchup gave it a surprisingly yummy and different flavor, as did the vinegar. I'd like to try apple cider vinegar instead of white. Also, I used a 13-qt. pot and it filled it to the brim, which didn't surprise me. Thanks for a truly slamming recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Running a search for ingredients I came across this. It sounded a little strange to me and had to think about trying it. I had the same feelings about beefuna burgers, and they are delecious, so I decided to give this a try. I made some changes, but minor ones as I prefer more of a stew than soup, and this was delecious. We fell in love with it and will be having this as a regular from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I have to admit, I was a little scared of this recipe but intrigued by the ingredients. I even called my girlfriend (who is of Portuguese decent) to make sure the ingredients sounded cohesive. The only changes I made was to use Chorizo instead of smoked sausage (make sure to drain the Chorizo after you cook it) and I used beef broth instead of water & I reserves 1/4 of the cabbage and didn't add it until the last 15 minutes of cooking so it had some crunch to it. The first 2 bites I thought 'Oh my goodness this was a mistake' and then on the 3rd bite it was like it all came together and it was amazing! Each bite got better and better. It just takes getting use to the uniqueness of the ingredients but it is so worth it. This will be a perfect dish to make in the Winter. I served mine with a garden salad and a crusty French bread. Thank you for sharing the recipe. It will be made in our house over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I grew up with my vovoa(portuguese grandmother) back in portugal making this kind of soup it's awesome,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
One of my absolute favorites! I'm originally from Hawaii but my paternal grandparents are Portuguese. Since I'm so far away from home this is my comfort food. I do what my grandmother does...add a little bit of "whatever". This time it's leftover Thanksgiving ham :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPA_GRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I was skeptical about this recipe, but wanted to use up odds and ends in the pantry/frig - smoked sausage, cabbage, etc., so did an ingredient search on Allrecipes. This is amazingly good - I used white beans instead of kidney beans and about half the onions. I also added a few diced carrots for color. Go ahead and add the vinegar; I hesitated, but it made it even better. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I have made this dish several times and it vanish just like that. Next, was the challenge of making it for 30 people. I was a bit uncomfortable, but when served, the soup was gone with 2 hours. They wanted more. Good Recipe !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe has been reviewed many times, but I had to add my comments. Amazing! A great way to use up a lot of cabbage. My husband just loved it, and it made lots, so we now have soup in the freezer. I added a bit more vinegar at the end, because I didn't think it had quite enough 'zing', but I probably added a bit too much, as then it had too much zing. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Makus Reimer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Barrhead, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States