Portuguese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This recipe is one that sounds so weird but is the very best!! Everyone that tries it wants seconds and the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I grew up with my vovoa(portuguese grandmother) back in portugal making this kind of soup it's awesome,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I was skeptical about this recipe, but wanted to use up odds and ends in the pantry/frig - smoked sausage, cabbage, etc., so did an ingredient search on Allrecipes. This is amazingly good - I used white beans instead of kidney beans and about half the onions. I also added a few diced carrots for color. Go ahead and add the vinegar; I hesitated, but it made it even better. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
OH - MY - GOODNESS!!!!!!!! This soup was amazing! I threw in a bag of frozen brussels sprouts/cauliflower/carrots at the end, for a little more texture. I'd ad more next time, just cause it complimented the cabbage so well. Great way to use one of the cabbages I caught at the St. Patrick's Day parade, and different from coleslaw or cabbage salad. The ketchup gave it a surprisingly yummy and different flavor, as did the vinegar. I'd like to try apple cider vinegar instead of white. Also, I used a 13-qt. pot and it filled it to the brim, which didn't surprise me. Thanks for a truly slamming recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Running a search for ingredients I came across this. It sounded a little strange to me and had to think about trying it. I had the same feelings about beefuna burgers, and they are delecious, so I decided to give this a try. I made some changes, but minor ones as I prefer more of a stew than soup, and this was delecious. We fell in love with it and will be having this as a regular from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Yea for portuguese soup! Don't be afraid of the ketchup & vinegar. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Good for using up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I personally did not care for the ketchup, even though I only used 1 cup instead of 2. Maybe if I didnt know it was in there, I might've liked it better. Hubby didnt know and liked the soup very much! I used apple cider vinegar and I'd recommend using that. Makes a LOT of soup. Next time I'll use a bigger pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Delicious! I didn't have consomme so I subbed 2 quarts beef stock and left out the water. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. This is a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheocon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I have to admit, I was a little scared of this recipe but intrigued by the ingredients. I even called my girlfriend (who is of Portuguese decent) to make sure the ingredients sounded cohesive. The only changes I made was to use Chorizo instead of smoked sausage (make sure to drain the Chorizo after you cook it) and I used beef broth instead of water & I reserves 1/4 of the cabbage and didn't add it until the last 15 minutes of cooking so it had some crunch to it. The first 2 bites I thought 'Oh my goodness this was a mistake' and then on the 3rd bite it was like it all came together and it was amazing! Each bite got better and better. It just takes getting use to the uniqueness of the ingredients but it is so worth it. This will be a perfect dish to make in the Winter. I served mine with a garden salad and a crusty French bread. Thank you for sharing the recipe. It will be made in our house over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States