Portuguese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This soup is delicious--it did take me a couple of bites before I got it, but it's delicious. My husband and 4-year old loved it too--will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This makes a TON of food! I halved the recipe and had enough leftovers to feed me and my fiance for another 4-5 meals. I added 2 tbsp worcestershire sauce to my halved recipe and the results were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I MADE THIS SOUP WITH THE THOUGHT OF CLEANING OUT MY REFRIGERATOR, AND IT WAS DEFINITLY WORTH IT. I MADE SOME TWEEKS I ADDED COOKED GROUND CHUCK AND PORK, AND ALSO SOME LEFT OVER RICE,AND REP PEPPER FLAKES FOR SOME SPICE, AND I LEFT OUT THE VINEGAR. MY HUSBAND LOVED IT AND EVEN REQUESTED I MAKE MORE SO HE CAN TAKE IT TO WORK FOR THE GUYS. DEFINITLY A KEEPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJRAGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe has been reviewed many times, but I had to add my comments. Amazing! A great way to use up a lot of cabbage. My husband just loved it, and it made lots, so we now have soup in the freezer. I added a bit more vinegar at the end, because I didn't think it had quite enough 'zing', but I probably added a bit too much, as then it had too much zing. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Makus Reimer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Barrhead, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I have to admit, I was a little scared of this recipe but intrigued by the ingredients. I even called my girlfriend (who is of Portuguese decent) to make sure the ingredients sounded cohesive. The only changes I made was to use Chorizo instead of smoked sausage (make sure to drain the Chorizo after you cook it) and I used beef broth instead of water & I reserves 1/4 of the cabbage and didn't add it until the last 15 minutes of cooking so it had some crunch to it. The first 2 bites I thought 'Oh my goodness this was a mistake' and then on the 3rd bite it was like it all came together and it was amazing! Each bite got better and better. It just takes getting use to the uniqueness of the ingredients but it is so worth it. This will be a perfect dish to make in the Winter. I served mine with a garden salad and a crusty French bread. Thank you for sharing the recipe. It will be made in our house over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Delicious! I didn't have consomme so I subbed 2 quarts beef stock and left out the water. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. This is a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheocon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I personally did not care for the ketchup, even though I only used 1 cup instead of 2. Maybe if I didnt know it was in there, I might've liked it better. Hubby didnt know and liked the soup very much! I used apple cider vinegar and I'd recommend using that. Makes a LOT of soup. Next time I'll use a bigger pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Good for using up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Yea for portuguese soup! Don't be afraid of the ketchup & vinegar. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Running a search for ingredients I came across this. It sounded a little strange to me and had to think about trying it. I had the same feelings about beefuna burgers, and they are delecious, so I decided to give this a try. I made some changes, but minor ones as I prefer more of a stew than soup, and this was delecious. We fell in love with it and will be having this as a regular from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William H. Wiersema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States