Portuguese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
5 Star hands down! I didn't change a thing. I love recipes that put together ingredients that wouldn't have come to mind. The flavor of the soup was good before I added the vinegar. I added the wine vinegar apprehensively, but wow it made a yummy difference. I make soups about 3 times a week all winter long. This one is hitting the top 10 list in the rotation. Thank you TXTEACH for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This soup was good. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I added less potatoes because I had no more room in my soup pot! It made a ton. The only thing I would change next time is little to no vinegar next time. I only added half the vinegar and I think it ruined the soup, made it taste like I was eating sauerkraut soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The broth was way too tart and bitter. I think that it would be a great marinade instead. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizmo5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
We loved this! Made it as written, only adding minced garlic, and lots of chopped veggies- celery, carrots, bell pepper. So hearty, but not heavy. Putting this in the soup rotation for this fall/winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Delicious! I went to a restaurant in New Bedford recently and had a soup that I really liked, so I searched online for a recipe and found this. This one turned out even better than the restaurant's! Definitely use the vinegar it gives it that little something extra. It makes a ton of soup so we'll be eating it for a few days, which is fine with us. I said to my husband that if I ever made this for anybody else they would think I was a good cook :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I'm glad others reviewed this recipe first. I'd never have tried it without those reviews. As it turned out, it was wonderful and the more I eat the better I like it. I was a little short on catsup so I threw in most of a can of tomato paste I had in the refrig plus two tablespoons of chili sauce. Couldn't get consomme' nearby so I used a can of beef broth and added a tablespoon of beef base to the water. Also added two teaspoons of sugar. Oh, and two chopped Roma tomatoes that needed to be used. This one goes on my list of favorite soups. It's foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CREEPER00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I have to say, I really had my doubts about this recipe, but I had the majority of the ingredients on hand, and it intrigued me enough to finally make it. My 7 year old and my mother are in love with this soup now. My mom called me a gourmet cook after eating this! lol I'm exceptionally pregnant at the moment, so I'm not sure I can give it a fair review from me, as all I want is a vanilla milkshake at the moment. I expected not to like it, but I did actually eat a bowl of it, and I have to say, it was surprisingly good! At the very least I will be making this again for my mother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I have made this dish several times and it vanish just like that. Next, was the challenge of making it for 30 people. I was a bit uncomfortable, but when served, the soup was gone with 2 hours. They wanted more. Good Recipe !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Big hit for Easter.I nixed the cabbage and added carrots though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I would say the serving size is a bit off. 2 servings was enough to feed 4 people lunch at my house. I made a vegetarian version of this by using vegetarian sausage (plus a dash of smoke flavoring) and vegetable broth instead of the beef. It has a nice, peppery warmth to it, but not so much as to be too spicy. My ultra-picky teenager (home sick with a sore throat) said this was good and ate nearly all of hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States