Portuguese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
YUM! My sister-in-law (Portuguese) makes this and I love it. I use Linguisa sausage because it's a portuguese sausage and I LOVE the flavor. It makes this soup wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was okay. I made it exactly as stated and found there too be too much cabbage (the sausage got lost in the soup because of it). I also found it tasted way too much like ketchup. We have a lot of left overs, and I will happily eat them but I doubt I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Determined to follow the recipe, against my better judgement and inner instincts, I added the vinegar. I don't know if this a personal or acquired taste...but, not for me. I just didn't care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made this recipe last night and it was amazing!! I accidentally bought white kidney beans and regular (non-smoked/non-spicy) sausage. My family loved the soup!! However, I think it would be better if next time I make sure to use red beans and either smoked or spicy sausages to give it a bit of a kick. I cut the recipe in half and it fed 4 of us, next day too! Definitely will make again!!!! Also, I think more veggies would be an added bonus! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I found this when looking for a soup recipe using cabbage and smoked sausage. My instincts said NO - don't make this with ketchup! But I didn't listen and should have.... I made it as written and can definitely taste that ketchup - it's not subdued by the other ingredients - as I hoped it would be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Good soup, I'd say 3 1/2 Stars....I made for church soup potluck. I made 12 servings, and there was very little left. My hubby who's Portuguese, said he'd never had a tomato based soup Portuguese soup before, he said he didn't LOVE it, but said it was good, but prefers the Kale soup. I liked it even with the strangeness of ketchup and vinegar. It was good, but not wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Turned out great! Used a 8 qt stock pot and it was almost full to the top - makes a ton of soup! Added: carrots, celery and corn. Used low sodium beef broth instread of consomme. Used only 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar and omitted the salt completely - did not need it. Everyone young and old liked it. Makes super size portions and freezes well. The longer it sits - the better it tastes. Will put this on the soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
5 Star hands down! I didn't change a thing. I love recipes that put together ingredients that wouldn't have come to mind. The flavor of the soup was good before I added the vinegar. I added the wine vinegar apprehensively, but wow it made a yummy difference. I make soups about 3 times a week all winter long. This one is hitting the top 10 list in the rotation. Thank you TXTEACH for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This soup was good. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I added less potatoes because I had no more room in my soup pot! It made a ton. The only thing I would change next time is little to no vinegar next time. I only added half the vinegar and I think it ruined the soup, made it taste like I was eating sauerkraut soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The broth was way too tart and bitter. I think that it would be a great marinade instead. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizmo5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States