Portuguese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Very easy and a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this recipe just as it was written but I used white beans instead of kidney because that is what I had and it was amazing!! Love this recipe. Ketchup and vinegar in a soup sounds strange but it totally works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I rarely have reviewed any recipe on here good or bad in eight years, but this is beyond inexcusable. This is pure garbage, unless you have extremely low culinary standards, as in none, and think tangy catsup packet soup with a bunch of overcooked textureless meat and cabbage in it is delicious. Just call this garbage catsup packet soup. I even tried to salvage the waste of time and food quantity ($ as well) by adding a bunch of chili powder, beer, cumin and curry to try and make the sweet tangy ketchup broth edible and let it cook for an extra 45 mins and no go. Shame on you for posting this but even more so shame on you users who mislead with reviews. This is the second worst recipe I've tried on here out of the 100s if not 1000s I've tried. It is that bad. Don't waste your time, effort, and resources. You'll just end up ordering a pizza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I had a hard time getting the beans and potatoes to get tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I'm a 1st generation American born of Portuguese descent. My parents came here 1 year before I was born. They carried traditions and made meals from the country of Portugal. I grew up eating authenticly made Portuguese food every day of my life. I no longer live with my parents. But am trying to reconnect with my roots through food. I tried this recipe out. It turned out to be too spicy & vinegry. I've never seen my mom add ketchup to a soup like this recipe asks for. I gave the recipe a chance, but it didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
One of my absolute favorites! I'm originally from Hawaii but my paternal grandparents are Portuguese. Since I'm so far away from home this is my comfort food. I do what my grandmother does...add a little bit of "whatever". This time it's leftover Thanksgiving ham :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPA_GRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
my husband loves this soup..maybe he's from Slovakia..so I guess he likes European food ..anyway when he likes it, I like it,too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was a great recipe. I was actually searching for a base recipe for Portuguese Kale soup. Unfortunately I didn't have any cabbage but I added two bunches of kale at the end and it was the bomb! I used hot chourico (Portuguese sausage) and tomato paste instead of ketchup. The only other change I made was to saute fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Very good and as everyone else said, it makes a huge pot! Ty for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haworth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Dartmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Very, very good. Made exactly as written, except only 4 servings which was enough for 6 people with leftovers. Vinegar was a unique addition. Will definitely make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is delicious period. I only used four potatoes and substituted two ears of fresh corn (just the kernels cut from the cob). That gave it more of a crunchy texture. I wondered how the vinegar would affect it but it all blended together perfectly. I used hot spicy smoked sausage which made it a bit too tangy. Regular smoked is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Student

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States