Portuguese Pork with Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
my family and I have been making this for a long time, with just a few variations...no mashing, etc., just sauteing. One of my favorite dishes. Really colorful with red, green and yellow peppers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is a tasty recipe, but can be juicier and more tender if cooked only until 140 degrees. Remove the pork to a plate and cover for five minutes. The temperature will rise to 145 degrees. Inside, there may be a slight pinkness, but there is no danger in eating the meat. When I was a kid, pork had to be cooked to a higher temperature to destroy bacteria, but that is no longer necessary. Less tender cuts of pork can benefit even more from cooking to 145 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Excellent 5 stars. Tender, juicy and flavorful. I followed the directions to a "T". I like the simple blend of fresh garlic, black peppercorn, olive oil and hawaiian sea salt for the marinade. However, the sauce made this dish! The white wine with chicken broth mixed with the marinade made this an excellent dish. I was the only one who used lemon. I gave the lemon a good squeeze over the pork which, to me added a nice balance of flavors along with the sweet red bell peppers and black peppercorns. I served this with, "Sauteed Cherry Tomatoes with Garlic and Basil,""Sesame-Lemon Asparagus," and "Parsley Red Potatoes," from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was great. Meat was super tender. Awesome job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wow! this was great! I usually don't really like wine in my cooking, but in this dish it was great. I really liked the heat of the peppercorns with the sweetness of the bell pepper and the sour of the wine and lemon. I will definately make this dish again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe is delicious as written, but even better if you add some flour to the left over liquid in the pan to make a red pepper sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is a recipe all-star; it is easy, delicious, and company worthy! It has been my experience that mashing peppercorns with a mortar and pestle is easiest when done without added liquid. I added the olive oil as directed in the recipe and think that it made it a more laborious task than necessary. Next time I will mash the peppercorns alone until almost ready and then add the garlic, olive oil and salt and finish mashing to make the paste. Not being a black pepper lover I cut the peppercorns to a little over ½ Tablespoon and I am very glad that I did. It would have been too hot for us otherwise and I fear that the pepper flavor might have been too overwhelming. After only two hours marinating in the fridge, the pork was well flavored by the paste and wonderfully tender. As the recipe submitter suggested in his review I did reduce the wine with the peppers and then removed the peppers to the plate with the pork. I added a cup of chicken broth and reduced that a bit before returning the pork to the skillet to finish cooking. I added the peppers with only about five minutes left to go because I did not want them to get mushy. I served the pork with mashed potatoes and green beans for a simple yet elegant meal. With so many recipes and so little time I have to absolutely love a recipe to make it a second time. I am already looking forward to making this again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was delicious. We doubled the pepper sauce and added ground almond flour instead of corn starch to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Great dish! If you don't have a mortar and pestle (I didn't) use the bottom of a sturdy cup (plastic or glass) and mash the ingredients in the bottom of a mixing bowl. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Awesome & easy!! I didn't have white so I used red wine instead. Also added 1/2 cup chicken stock after the wine reduced and a little cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. Used both chicken thighs and pork and both turned out flavourful and moist. Am sharing recipe with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States