Portuguese Pork with Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Quick - easy and I loved using my mortar and pestle - I always feel like the mad scientist and anyone around are really impressed!!! Followed recipe exactly and it was perfect. I was going to add more garlic but didn't and was glad I followed the recipe. Thanks submitter. As an after thought, adding bite size chunks of onions may be something I might try the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Wonderful! I used a combination of red, yellow, and orange bell peppers. Skipped the lemon slices, but the lemon juice is a must. We had this with plain couscous and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
My family loved this - husband and teenage son. Used coarse ground black pepper (cut back on quantity a bit), combo of red and green pepper, added some red onion and did not have fresh lemon on hand, so used Minute Maid lemon juice you get in the freezer case. I think some sliced fresh mushrooms would be good with this too! Served over rice. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This was an excellent recipe! My family loved it. I didn't get to marinate but about 20 minutes & it was still fantastic. I also did not make a paste, but used crushed garlic out of a jar (don't have a mortar & pestle), & actually, with that much meat I think it worked better as a marinade. I used my favorite white wine and followed another Reviewer's suggestion to add cornstarch to the leftover sauce, which turned out to be a good idea. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This was just delicious! It was so easy to make, and just melted in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
It was delicious. I recommend using a little less salt but it tasted wonderful. The lemons really topped it off and I only marinated for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Loved it! The red peppers had great flavor, and the lemon added so much. I've made this twice in two weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
What a wonderful dish! I don't have a large mortar and pestle so used an mini chop. It did not break all the peppercorns so I did crush a few with my small mortar and pestle. Quite a few of the peppercorns remained whole. Although I thought it would be too peppery, it was such a hit at our house that it made the DEFINITELY MAKE AGAIN, AND SOON! list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
When I origially posted this recipe (under an old user account that I forgot) I left out the cup of chicken stock that you add just after the alcohol from the wine has cooked off. You should first remove the peppers and reduce the liquid by half before adding the pork and peppers back to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuart Miller
Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore

See how to make perfectly tender pork cacciatore in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States